Raising Grateful Kids in an Entitled World {A Tyndale House Publishers Review}

Raising Grateful Kids in an Entitled World

I’ve seen attitudes in my children lately that I might sometimes label spoiled or entitled.  Then, I grimace as I see myself modeling those same spoiled and entitled attitudes in my life.  So, when I saw the book Raising Grateful Kids in an Entitled World: How One Family Learned That Saying No Can Lead to Life’s Biggest Yes, I was hopeful to find a book that would be a blessing to me as a parent in helping me to weed through those attitudes that I had been seeing crop up in my children.

In this book, Kristen Welch confesses how hard it is as a parent not to give just because it would make them happy and help them to fit in with their peers.  However, she explains how giving your children everything they could ever want is not a healthy things to do and how it won’t produce happy and successful kids.  Along the way, Welch also uses this view to suggest some healthy media habits, help to cultivate your children’s obedience and to provide them with a strong work ethic.

I find Welch’s writing to be strongly entertaining and compelling, and I enjoy her advice and stories from her children’s lives.  Her children are only five or six years older than mine, so I feel like I’m receiving advice from someone who is just a little further down the road than I am.  She has some great ideas for service projects, technology limits, providing a sense of money management and creating a Jesus centered home for your family.

I personally found that the most valuable advice to me was to instill a good work ethic for your children, and I have now begun a list of extra chores that my children can help around the house with and expect small payments for completing.  I’m looking forward to experimenting with more of the ideas that appealed to me in the book as I go forward in my parenting years.

Disclaimer:  I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review from Tyndale House Publishers.

Leave a Reply

