Whitney Miller’s New Southern Table {A BookLook Bloggers Review}

New Southern Table

I’ve been looking at different cookbooks and authors recently because I’ve been taking an attempt to start adding some new, budget friendly recipes to my repertoire so that I’m not so often driven to unhealthy fast food.  As a southern gal, I can’t resist the opportunity to look at cookbooks that have southern cooking, so when I received the opportunity to review Whitney Miller’s New Southern Table: My Favorite Family Recipes with a Modern Twist, I knew that it was probably a cookbook that my family would enjoy.

In this book, Miller, takes the recipes that she grew up with and puts a new spin on them.  Sometimes she’s adding more flavors.  Other times she’s taking some of the fat way.  Still other times, she’s taking a southern flavor and applying it to a completely new dish.

Most of the recipes are simple, but a few are more complex.  Some of the simplest additions, like halving muffins and toasting them provides an awesome addition of flavor.  Although there’s not a picture of every recipe, there are many beautiful pictures, and it’s a pleasure to thumb through this cookbook.  I haven’t made many of the recipes yet, but I’m looking forward to trying them over the next few months.  It’s a beautiful and delicious looking cookbook.

Disclaimer:  I received a complimentary copy of this book through the BookLook Bloggers program in exchange for an honest review.  My opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

