I’m Happy for You {A FlyBy Promotions Review}

I'm Happy for You

I admit it.  I often get caught up in comparing myself with other people.  In fact, I occasionally have to take Facebook and other social media breaks to keep myself from feeling jealousy over the amazing things that it seems like everyone else has and does.  So, in my search for repentance over this sin of comparison, I thought it would be an excellent idea to read I’m Happy for You (Sort Of…Not Really): Finding Contentment in a Culture of Comparison, the newest book by Kay Wills Wyma.

In this book, in a very light and conversational way, Wyma details her life as a middle-aged housewife with five children, a husband and a middle-class lifestyle in a way that is framed to teach the reader not to compare themselves with others.  Instead, Wyma suggests that we should take the focus off of ourselves and focus on a genuine happiness with others.  The “Rejoice with those who rejoice, weep with those who weep” that the apostle Paul writes of in Romans 12:15.

Throughout the way, Wyma peppers her book with examples of how we compare ourselves to others, how we are sometimes happy with others fail and how our mental sense of “justice” always seems to work in our own favor. It’s an enjoyable journey into Wyma’s life and I found myself relating and smiling in many places.

However, this wasn’t the book I was looking for because for me comparison and discontent is a really real sin that I’m struggling against and not just something that I can (humorously) see in myself and others.  I found Wyma’s book, although fun and entertaining, to not be what I was wanting or needing because I felt that I needed a spiritual element for repentance and bearing fruit in keeping with that.  I would have liked a listing of verses to meditate on or a an action plan for gratitude in my own life.  Even a listing of the author’s recommended resources for such things would have been helpful to me.

In the end though, if you’re looking for a fun memoir of comparison and discontent, as well as some great self-help advice for changing those behaviors, this will make a great read for you.  And, to help you out, I’m going to be giving away a copy on my blog!!  Between now and November 29, 2015, just leave a comment and I’ll enter you to win!!  If you’d like to have a prompt to focus on, you can also write about how you avoid comparison and jealousy of others.  It’s fine to just say “Hi!” though 🙂 (Giveaway valid in the United States and Canada)

Disclosure (in accordance with the FTC’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising”): Many thanks to Propeller Consulting, LLC for providing this prize for the giveaway. Choice of winners and opinions are 100% my own and NOT influenced by monetary compensation. I did receive a sample of the product in exchange for this review and post.

Only one entrant per mailing address, per giveaway. If you have won a prize from our sponsor Propeller / FlyBy Promotions in the last 30 days, you are not eligible to win. If you have won the same prize on another blog, you are not eligible to win it again. Winner is subject to eligibility verification.

16 thoughts on “I’m Happy for You {A FlyBy Promotions Review}

  1. I’m the same way, im always comparing myself to others. I also have to take a break from social media to stop doing it. I think since we are acknowledging we have a problem, we are making progress.

  2. I’ve started backing away from Twitter, because it’s so fast-paced and hectic that I find myself getting wrapped up in constantly comparing myself to the people I’m following. This sounds like a great book!
    In case I win, my email address is ireadtilldawnATgmailDOTcom.

  3. I’ve never really experienced jealousy. I’ve always been pretty happy with myself & if I wasn’t that just meant I needed to work to improve myself. A long time ago I realized we all pretty much look the same- the majority of people have two eyes, a nose, a mouth, etc… There really isn’t anything for me to compare- you have a nose, I have a nose. If I struggled in any area with comparing myself it’s as a mother, but really I just accept that there are different ways of parenting & I’ll just do whatever I feel is best for my family.

Leave a Reply

