Oh Me of Little Faith

Lately, I’ve been reading the book of Matthew and studying it along with my Community Bible Study sisters, and one of the things that has stood out to is the way that Jesus has referred to faith.

He marveled and told the centurion that never had he seen so great of faith in all of Israel.  He told the disciples on the boat that they were “of little faith”  He told the woman with the bleeding disorder that her faith had made her whole and the two blind men that they would be healed according to their faith.

Reading all this has made me feel incredibly guilty and like I needed a bigger faith.  I wondered, why was my faith so small.  So, this morning I was happening to read out of Luke chapter 17 through the Armor of God bible study I’m participating in.  In verses 5-6, it says:

The apostles said to the Lord, “Increase our faith.”  “If you have faith the size of a mustard seed,” the Lord said, “you can say to this mulberry tree, ‘Be uprooted and planted in the sea’ and it will obey you.

I think I get it now.  I don’t need more faith.  Having more faith won’t make God any stronger or change anything about God.  It’s okay if I face things and situations and I’m scared and feel like my faith is failing.  The object of my faith is strong enough to take all my doubts and insecurities as long as I continue to rely on him and obey him.

Realizing that makes me feel much better about all the fears, worries and doubts that I manifest and spend time squashing so that I can follow in faith.  He’s got this, even if I sometimes waver.  I know he’s got this, and that knowing is all I need to have as I make my way through life.

Leave a Reply

