Rest Assured {A BookLook Bloggers Review}

Rest Assured

One of my my main areas of conviction lately has been the constant feeling of busyness that has seeped into my life.  I’ve found that I’m often so busy with the things that I would like to do or can’t say no to doing that I’m not free to do the things that I feel like God would have me to do.  So, when I received the opportunity to read Vicki Courtney’s new book Rest Assured: A Recovery Plan for Weary Souls, I was sure that I would find some good advice for me in the book.

 In this book, Courtney is writing to people who feel overcommitted, over-connected, over-burdened and overwhelmed.  People to me who have filled up their lives with busyness so that they can feel accomplished or connected to others but then find that their busyness alienates them from the important things in life.  This is a book of two parts.  The first four chapters discuss what is going wrong and describe the problem and the solution.  The section part has a plan to help us to recover from the sin of busyness.  These last four chapters each have a week long challenge plan and at the end of the book there is a 30 day restoration plan.

I have to admit that I totally inhaled this book in the first reading because my busy and hungry soul needed it.  Now, I’m reading through the book more slowly, underlining as I go and finding the gems that truly help me see where I’ve messed up as someone who is addicted to busyness.  It is my plan to take the weekly challenges and the 30 day challenge as I encounter them this time around.  This is a lovely book and one that I’m going to keep on my shelf and refer to often in my effort to ditch the busy things in my life for the important things.

Disclaimer:  I received a complimentary copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

