Parables {A BookLook Bloggers Review}

Parables

Recently, I received the opportunity to review a lovely and interesting new book.  John MacArthur’s new book, Parables: The Mysteries of God’s Kingdom Revealed Through the Stories Jesus Told, takes the opportunity to examine many of Jesus’s prominent parables as well as the reason why Jesus spoke in  parables.  Since I’m involved in a year-long study of Matthew, I thought it would be the perfect time for me to sit and read this book.

This book covers several of Jesus’s main parables, including the parable of the soils, the parable of the wealthy landowner and the good Samaritan.  Throughout the book, MacArthur discusses biblical context and the meaning of the story before beginning to point out the main application we can take from the story.  After having decoded the story like that, MacArthur continues by pointing out and exploring some of the secondary ideas and applications that we can make to our lives on the basis of this parable.

I found myself reading leisurely, enjoying MacArthur’s prose and his main lines of thought.  I also found that I often paused to take copious notes of things that I want to remember.  I found myself making lists with scripture references and main points that I wanted to research later.  This is a great resource for teachers and also a wonderful resource for anyone wanting to know more about the stories that Jesus told in his teaching.

Disclaimer:  I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

