The Ology {A LitFuse Publicity Group Review}

The Ology

As a Baptist, I often feel like I fail to pass on a systematic answer to my children on certain Biblical truths.  We just don’t have any set up catechisms or even any unifying creeds in our churches beyond the one that is particular to each church.  So, it was with anticipation that I received the new book, The Ology: Ancient Truths, Ever New.  I knew as soon as I received it that this book was the perfect book to provide a comprehensive look at our faith and why we hold to it for my children.

The Ology is a nice, thick picture book with many beautiful drawings that covers 71 basic points of the Christian faith.  It covers this points in a nice, neutral mainline protestant way, and I heartily approve of that.  Sometimes we get so caught up in our small differences that we forget that what unites us as Christians is greater than small differences in viewpoint.  There are pages, such as baptism, than mention that different denominations have different views on when baptism should occur but that all agree that salvation is through Jesus alone.  I think that is very important for children to understand, so that when they see beliefs that are different from the denomination that they were raised in that they are able to understand that these are not the major issues.

Each point that the book covers is given 2-4 pages of a combination of text and illustrations.  The text explains the main point of theology over 1-2 pages.    Incorporated are 1-2 pages of illustrations, and contained within the illustration pages are multiple scripture lookups as evidence for each point.  Between the text and the Biblical lookups, your child is given a whole picture of the scripture.

At the end of the book is a two page glossary that gives an explanation of various popular terms for Christians to use, such as gospel, holy, repent, etc.  There’s also a section of questions and assignments for reflection at the end of the book.  The parent guide in the front gives you an idea of the best way to use this book with students all the way from 6 years old to adults.

I really like this book.  I love the questions, the multiple scripture references and the thoroughness of the explanations.  I also love the beautiful illustrations, which is the part that makes the book so kid-friendly and welcoming.  This is something that would make a great basis for a semester long class on Christian theology, and I could totally see working through that with my children over the course of 3 or 4 months.  It’s something that I’ve put on my upcoming to-do list.  In the meantime, I’ve put the book on my children’s bookshelf, so that the children can flip through the book and be inspired and perhaps my older children can have some of their questions about their faith answered with just some glances through the book.

Disclaimer:  I was given a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

