This Week

This week was a nice, relaxed week.  Other than Tae Kwon Do, Community Bible Study and a lunch picnic associated with Bible study, we stayed at home most days.  I thought that would mean that we’d get a lot of bookwork done, but I was wrong.

We did continue working on Surfing the Net: Science.  We finished our study of amphibians, and I got a really good laugh out of watching Rose do a virtual frog dissection.  She would work on it, and then cover her eyes and go, “Ewww!  Ewww!”  It was incredibly funny to watch, and I’m glad that it wasn’t a real frog since she was so disgusted by the virtual ones.

frog

We also worked extensively with our last review item for the Crew year, and it’s a Bible study from Grapevine Bible Studies on Creation to Jacob, and so far all the children really like it.

I don’t want to make a big announcement of it or anything, but this is actually going to be our last review for the Crew.  It’s a bittersweet time for me, as I find myself giving up something I really love because I’m having to choose between what it fun for me and what is right and the Lord’s leading for our family.

grapevine

We started getting our holiday crafting going this week.  We made the zombies from Learn Create Love this week, and I think they turned out really cute.

Zombies

Firecracker’s been keeping himself pretty busy recently.  He’s been working through his Matthew book for CBS, and he’s been very interested in the 23rd Psalm.  We received In Freedom’s Cause earlier this year, and he’s been listening to it over and over again and he learns the story of William Wallace and Robert the Bruce and as he continues to learn more and more about faith.  One of the next things that he, Rose and I plan on doing is a lapbook on Psalm 23.  It’s what he’s asked to do, so I’m pretty happy about that 🙂

He’s also been back to making 3-d or pop-up drawings with tape and multiple sheets of paper, and I think that’s kind of cool.  He’s been sitting through Pokemon origami tutorials and folding several different variations on Pikachu.  He’s always wanted to do paper folding, and he’s finally developing the patience to actually do it, so that’s a plus.  He also put one new Pokemon in his notebook, and that Pokemon is quite a cute little guy.

Firecracker

Rose has been making houses with hot glue and popsicle sticks.  That’s one of her favorite construction materials, so I’m pleased with her most recent creation.  He painted  new canvas of a cat.  She’s so cat obsessed!!

She also has been continuing to work through the devotional that I reviewed a couple of weeks ago.  It’s a nice devotional, and she’s still really enjoying it.

Rose

Monkey and Owlet spent a good amount of time watching Wild Kratts and playing with their Mr. Potato Heads this week.  They also really played with playdoh, but I didn’t take any pictures of that.

potato heads

The little kids also painted with watercolors, played with their toys, and helped Rose and I bake in the kitchen.  They had a fun week, and they got plenty of attention from me, but they also had plenty of independent playtime as well.  I like that.

little ones

I didn’t have a ton of personal time, and honestly most of my “free” moments were spent beginning to change over the children’s wardrobes from summer to winter.   However, I did find a little time to watch the Falcons game and cross-stitch while I did that, and I made a “Beatitudes Bingo” game for my class for CBS.

my projects

That’s it for this week!  Hope you guys have a great week!!

Leave a Reply

