Galaxy Buck: Mission to Sector 9 {A Flyby Promotions Review}

Galaxy Buck Mission to Sector 9

My children have loved and enjoyed Phil Vischer’s What’s in the Bible? DVD series for several years as we’ve read through the Bible and begun to study the Bible as a story of God and his redemptive plan for mankind.  So, it was with great anticipation that I saw that a new DVD, Galaxy Buck: Mission To Sector 9, was being promoted on the What’s in the Bible? website.  When I received the opportunity to watch and review the new movie this week, I was very excited.

About the Movie

Buck Denver is working in a cubicle for the Galactic Mission Board, and he has a dream of carrying God’s love to every corner of the galaxy.  He isn’t a captain.  He doesn’t have a starship or a crew, but he knows that God wants him to do big things.  When an opportunity arises the lead a real mission into deep space, things don’t go at all the way Buck envisioned.  If this was truly God’s will for him, why is everything going wrong?

My Experience with the Movie

I sat down to watch this movie with the whole family the other night.  My eight and ten year old sat and watched and paid attention to every word.  On the other hand, it was way over the head of both my four and five year old children, and they drifted in and out of the room.  My eight and ten year old found the movie very entertaining, and asked me immediately if they could watch it again.  I don’t know if they absorbed any deeper biblical reflections or messages on their first viewing.  Usually, we need to watch a movie a few times before they begin digging deeper for connections, and this is one that I’m sure will be re-watched in our home.

I, however, found myself shaken a little by the need that I had for the message of the movie.  Buck wants to do great things for God, but as he is on his mission, he realizes that God doesn’t want him to do great things so much as he just wants to be with him and needs him.  Buck finds himself needing to tuck away his desire to do great things for God so that he can just be the person that God wants him to be and to live the life where he is open to the next step that God has on his path.

I want to do great things for God.  Sometimes, I get so caught up in my “big things” and my desires that I’m not really serving God.  I’m serving myself.  I also have felt God’s call and his push to to stop serving myself and to stop “pushing to serve,” but to instead be open to the path that God wants me to go down.  Sometimes, like Buck, I think that if I do something big for God that then I can be happy, instead of being happy with what he’s given me.

So, I guess that’s the best way to say that we love the movie, and I’ll be buying a permanent copy of the movie to have in our home.  (We received access to a pre-release promo link for the purposes of this review.)

SOCIAL • CORNER

OFFICIAL WEBSITE

OFFICIAL TRAILER

FACEBOOK

TWITTER

PINTEREST

INSTAGRAM

And now, for an opportunity for you guys.  I’m giving away a DVD copy of this movie.  If you’re interested in winning, just leave a comment anytime between now and October 22, 2015!!  I’ll be drawing a winner using the help of Random.org on October 23rd.  This giveaway is valid in the US and Canada.

Disclosure (in accordance with the FTC’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising”): Many thanks to Propeller Consulting, LLC for providing this prize for the giveaway. Choice of winners and opinions are 100% my own and NOT influenced by monetary compensation. I did receive a sample of the product in exchange for this review and post.

Only one entrant per mailing address, per giveaway. If you have won a prize from our sponsor Propeller / FlyBy Promotions in the last 30 days, you are not eligible to win. If you have won the same prize on another blog, you are not eligible to win it again. Winner is subject to eligibility verification.

26 thoughts on “Galaxy Buck: Mission to Sector 9 {A Flyby Promotions Review}

  1. Missed the contest, but thanks for the review. I haven’t seen this one, and my youngest two are working back through the What’s in the Bible? again, right now – so it might be a fun way to end off the series!

Leave a Reply

