Everything Counts {A BookLook Bloggers Review}

Everything CountsI’ve been on the lookout for a devotional to use with my two older children as a way to begin our days together.  So, I was excited to get an opportunity to review Everything Counts Revised Edition: A year’s worth of devotions for radical living.  This devotional is actually a revised edition of the original Everything Counts from Steven Case.  In this devotional, Case has taken passages from Chambers’s classic book, My Utmost for His Highest.

Each day, Case takes a scripture and a small portion of Chambers’ book and quotes it.  He also adds a section of his own explanation in terms that teens can understand and relate to.  He also gives you a “Just between you and God” section each day that contains a prayer or an application to help you make this devotional a part of your faith walk.

I really thought that this devotional is beautifully done and easily relatable.  The quotations of Chambers do contain difficult language, and I find that Case’s explanations are helpful for the teens that will be reading this book.  I also felt that applications are practical and the questions for reflection and prayer are definitely applicable to this age group and very manageable for teens to think through.  I look forward to using this devotional this year with both of my older two children.

Disclaimer:  I received a copy of this book for review from the publisher.  I was not required to write a positive review and my opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

