More For Girls Only! Devotions {A Tyndale House Review}

More for Girls Only Devotions

I try to have a personal Bible time to sit and talk about the Bible, prayer and other personal things with each child daily.  However, I don’t want my time with my children to be secure time for them, especially for my 8 year old daughter who completely shuts down whenever she thinks that she feels a lecture coming on.  So, when I received the opportunity to review the More for Girls Only! Devotions from Carolyn Larsen, I believed it would be a great element to introduce into my Bible time with Rose.

This book contains about sixty devotions, and each devotion is four pages long.  Printed in pink text, each devotion contains a story, a quiz for self-evaluation, ideas for action, and quotes from the Bible and from famous people related to the devotional.  Most days, I read the story, Rose takes the quiz, we discuss and sometimes journal using the prompts in the book, and we close by reading the quotes and verses.  It occasionally produces a very fruitful discussion between the two of us.

Rose often asks to start the individual work part of the day with this devotional life.  She says that the stories are entertaining and she can relate the situations that the girls in the book are making decisions on.  She loves the quizzes, and filling them out is her favorite part of the book.  She often chooses a prompt from the devotional, like making a list of her worries and praying over them, to become her prayer journaling time of the day.  In fact, I often journal with her through prayers related to the prompt.  I do find it funny because none of the girls in the illustrations have noses and Rose is pretty insistent on drawing noses onto the girls.

Disclaimer:  I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.  I was not required to write a positive review.

One thought on “More For Girls Only! Devotions {A Tyndale House Review}

Leave a Reply

