Prayers That Changed History {A BookLook Bloggers Review}

Prayers That Changed History

As much as I want to teach history to my children, I want to make sure that I’m providing them an accurate history that emphasizes the character and morals of the people involved.  I want them to be able to see God’s hand as they look back at history.  So, when I received the opportunity to review Prayers That Changed History: From Christopher Columbus to Helen Keller, how God used 25 people to change the world, I knew that it would be a book I would want to share with my children.

Prayer is a big focus of mine now, and I’m working on developing new ways to spend time in prayer with the children and for them to be able to see God’s faithfulness and how he answers prayers in our lives.  So, to find a history that not only shows people of character, but also shows how their prayers and God’s answer changes the course of history was a real find for me.

Each chapter considers a different person, and in the chapter you are introduced to:

  • The story of the person and his/her prayer
  • Something to think about related to prayer
  • The prayer in that person’s own words
  • How this person changes history
  • Related Biblical characters
  • Relating the prayer to your own life

This is perfect for some mini history and Bible lessons, and if you keep a timeline or Book of Centuries, Goyer even suggests a date for a timeline.  This is really a perfect book for flexible use for homeschoolers, and it is my plan to use it soon as a spine for a walk through history and prayer with my own children.

Disclaimer:  I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

