Spurgeon on Hungering After Righteousness

I’ve been reading about the beatitudes recently, and I’ve been pondering what it means in Matthew 5:6 when Jesus says:

Blessed are they which do hunger and thirst after righteousness: for they shall be filled.

Along the way, I started reading a commentary that referred to Charles Spurgeon’s sermons/writings on the beatitude.  I couldn’t help but to share that here and today with you guys.  Spurgeon says:

‘Alas!’ says he, ‘it is not enough for me to know that my sin is forgiven.  I have a fountain of sins within my heart, and bitter waters continually flow from it.  Of, that my nature could be changed, so that I, the lover of sin, could be made a lover of that which is good; that I now full of evil, could become full of holiness!

I want that.  I want to hunger and thirst after righteousness.  I want to be full of holiness.  I want to love what is good and what is pure.  I’m so far from being that person, and I am so often sick with my own sin.  Hoping for better and hoping for more.

Leave a Reply

