Longing for Paris {A Tyndale House Review}

Longing for Paris

Sometimes, as a wife and mother, I feel like my life is not going the way that I think that it should.  I have dreams, longings and unfulfilled desires for success and achievement that I occasionally even see my children as the enemy of.  So, when I received the opportunity to review Sarah Mae’s new book, Longing for Paris: One Woman’s Search for Joy, Beauty, and Adventure-Right Where She Is, I hoped to find some encouragement that would stick with me as I navigated my stay-at-home, homeschooling lifestsyle.

I wasn’t disappointed.  Sarah Mae talks often of her dreams and how, while she didn’t want to set her family up as an idol, she knew that her call was to submit some of her personal longings for success and adventure to this time of raising her children.  Sarah Mae’s book is loosely arranged by topic, and topics include food, beauty, romance, parenting, home, personal ministry and sharing within a group of ladies.  Through it all, Sarah Mae shares personal reflections, memories, and her own applications for various passages of scripture.

This is a wonderful and reflective reading for Moms who jumped into being a wife and mother with both feet and have found themselves looking for greener grass.  As a stay-at-home mom, it is hard to see other women accomplishing so many great things in their careers and their ministries and to realize that for the next 10-15 years that won’t be you.  We all have longings that aren’t fulfilled, and that’s part of what propels us to God and drives us to our knees.  I found inspiration and encouragement as I savored the stories and reflections throughout the book.  There were a few times where I would disagree with some of her interpretation of scriptures, but I don’t feel that in any way makes this less of a book or the message to be any less important for those of us who are learning to life completely and embrace the lives that we have rather than the lives that we wish we had.

Disclaimer:  I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

