Thriving in Babylon {A LitFuse Publicity Group Review}

Thriving in Babylon

Last year, as part of our Community Bible Study, we studied the book of Daniel.  So, whenever I have the opportunity to read a book that commentates or expounds on ideas in the book of Daniel, I find myself drawn to the book.  The most recent book in this category that I have read is Larry Osborne’s book Thriving in Babylon: Why Hope, Humility, and Wisdom Matter in a Godless Culture.

In this book, Osborne begins with the picture of Daniel, taken from his culture and immersed culturally into a pagan Babylon and uses it as a entry point into discussing the problems and signs of counterfeit faith as well as how our trials prepare us for spiritual warfare.  He then takes the second half of the book to discuss more in-depth how the three traits of hope, humility and wisdom become an essential part of spiritual warfare.

I found myself loving sections of this book, especially the sections on the symptoms of counterfeit faith.  I’ve found myself contemplating far too often recently how those I’m around have good intentions but don’t actually have a faith in Jesus.  It’s especially heartbreaking when this contemplation takes place beside a loved one’s grave.  These sections of the book are incredibly valuable and I especially love his breakdown of the parable of the sower.

I also found much of the rest of the book filled with practical wisdom and common sense advice.  I found that occasionally his advice went a little too far in the direction of needlessly exposing yourself and (as a mom) your young ones to godless company and compromise.  While there is some wisdom to be used in making these kind of decisions, I find that his advice is very laissez-faire in a way that is not suitable the training and nurture we are supposed to give our children as well as in the advice for keeping godly company that the Bible gives out to us.  Still, despite these drawbacks, all in all, this was a great book, and I’m glad to have had the opportunity to read it.

Not only did I receive a copy of the book read from the publisher, I also received a copy to giveaway!!  So, if you would like to be considered in the giveaway of this book, please just leave a comment!!  This giveaway will end 7/25/2015!

You can read more reviews here

Disclaimer:  I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.  Thank you!

Leave a Reply

