Patriotic Rag Wreath

There are probably a million rag wreath tutorials out there to choose from, so I almost didn’t write this post.  However, I wanted to share with you an example of a craft that Rose and I worked on together and both enjoyed making so that if you’ve got a kid wanting to craft, you guys can actually make a useful handicraft.

It’s been bothering me that I didn’t have a wreath for summer for a couple of years.  I know that’s going to seem silly to some of you guys, but it just so happens that some of my holiday cheer comes from having a nice wreath on my door so that I can see the wreath every time I open the door for the mailman or pull into my driveway.

So, I set out to make my own wreath for summer this year because all the really nice store-bought wreaths are so expensive, and I just knew that Rose would enjoy helping me. 🙂

I went to Hobby Lobby and bought:

  • a medium sized wire wreath form
  • a pack of 5 fat quarter sized pieces of patriotic cloth
  • a large chipboard star
  • a spool of simple patriotic ribbon

Supplies for Rag Wreath

Then I opened up each piece of fabric, cut it into fourths, and then cut each fourth into strips. There felt like there were a million strips.

Fabric Strips

Meanwhile, Rose ran off with the chipboard star, pulled out her acrylic paints and began to paint a flag on the star.  I also had her paint the sides and the back so that none of the plain chipboard color showed through.

star flag

After that, I sat and tied knots onto the wire form.  Rose tied a few, but she considered it “boring.”  We watched a movie and it took me pretty much the whole movie to tie the strips on.  There are four rings on the wreath form, but I really only tied on two rings, and I alternated where I tied.

Once the star was dry, I hot glued the ribbon to the back of the star, tied it onto the wreath, and then hung it on my door.

Patriotic Rag Wreath

And I love it!  I’m already considering making others for other holidays 🙂  This cost me about $20 to make, but since I paid $35-40 a piece for my two favorite wreaths, I don’t feel like I came out too badly.  I could have lessened the costs by buying fabric on bolts or by using blue jeans and other materials I already had at home, but I didn’t, at least not on this wreath.

5 thoughts on “Patriotic Rag Wreath

  1. My mom has always been craft. She is amazing at everything she touches. I remember her making beautiful wreaths using this method when I was a kid. Fond memories. Super cute wreath!

Leave a Reply

