Too Busy to Be Present

Too Busy to Live My Life

I know you guys have noticed that I’ve been reading a lot of books about being a happier homeschooler, and sharing bits of advice here and there.  Most recently, I’ve been reading from Mary Hood’s The Joyful Home Schooler.  I’ve been reading about learning how to be present in my life.

Far too often, no matter how much we accomplish in a day, I feel like a failure at the end of it for not getting my whole to-do list done.  Then, I’m not really “with” the kids because I’m thinking about laundry, blogging, lesson planning, only spending schoolwork time with them, etc.  It’s a difficult place to be in, and I think from my reading that it’s a common place for a homeschool Mom to find herself in.

I really like this quote from Hood’s book.  I’m saving it now for later.

Many home-schooling mothers allow their present to be stolen away by the demon of “busy-ness.”  They go through life trying desperately to feel like they have adequately accomplished everything they set out to do.  The problem is, there are never enough hours in the day to accomplish their goals.  There is always another toilet to be cleaned, another lesson plan to be worked up, another supper to be put on the table, another paper to be corrected, another meeting to attend, another church service to prepare for, another day of library trips and grocery shopping and trips to the post office and bank.

Some days I’m just exhausted thinking about my to-do list.  And I realize that I neglect to give myself the rest and grace that I need to get through the day.  I also neglect to extend that love and grace to my children.  <sigh>  There’s just always so much “to do.”  I think one of the things that I’m most needing to work on is figuring out the difference between “good” and “great” and the difference between “essential” and “nonessential.”   The reason why it’s hard is because it’s all “good” stuff.

I’m working on driving some of that  busyness out of my home (which is why I’m writing about it so much here), but it’s so hard.  How do you remind yourself to stop and be present in your life?

Leave a Reply

