The Miracle in the Middle {A BookLook Bloggers Review}

The Miracle in the Middle

Did you ever know that God was leading you in a certain direction and leap out in faith, only to find that before you’d brought the task to completion, you were stuck in a messy middle that you hadn’t accounted for?  This is the concept that is the subject of Charlotte Gambill’s newest book,The Miracle in the Middle: Finding God’s Voice in the Void.

In this book, Gambill explains how that sometimes, when we get to the middle of our task, our enthusiasm and energy is completely spent, and we often don’t know whether to turn back or to press ahead.  She reminds us that the prize ahead is one worth fighting for and gives us some practical help for navigating remainder of the way.

I found this to be a delightful and inspiring read.  I was especially convicted by a portion of a chapter on following where Gambill is discussing Jesus passing by the boats calling his first disciples to follow him.  She says, “. . . the discipleship he was calling them into was a ministry not based on their qualifications or experience, but on their ability to follow.”  So often, I think God’s called me for my qualifications, and yet he’s not interested in what my experience or qualifications are, he just wants me to follow where he’s leading.

I also found her descriptions, as an Englishwoman, of her take-charge American husband living in England to be incredibly interesting.  It is true that there are sometimes times of waiting and sometimes times where we just need to take charge and see something through, even if we need to push it a little.  Wisdom is knowing which situation demands which response.

I wish there had been more of a focus in the book, or if there was I missed it, on when you can’t do anything but wait on a situation that is beyond your control.  That’s the area that I personally struggle with the most, and I would have liked some additional guidance there, but overall, this is a great book to help you as you’re trying to get from Point A to Point B.

Disclaimer:  I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher.

Leave a Reply

