The Most Important Work (for a Homeschool Parent)

Remembering my most important parenting task

Here’s another entry into my list of favorite quotes.  It’s from Heidi St. John, and comes from her book, The Busy Homeschool Mom’s Guide to Romance: Nurturing your marriage through the homeschool years.

Or, in Heidi homeschool paraphrase, “What does it profit a homeschool mom if she homeschools her children and then gets so wrapped up in the busyness of life that she forgets that her primary purpose is to cultivate the hearts and souls of her children for the kingdom?”

This is, of course, a Heidi paraphrase of Mark 8:36.

Jesus said, “What does it profit a man if he gains the whole world and loses his own soul?”

Sometimes I get so caught up in reading, writing, math, science and history that I forget about the most important thing of all.  I get caught up in the worldly standards because of my fears about being seen as a bad parent or as one who is not good enough for her children.  So, I forget to do the things that God tell me to do.  Both of St. John’s books have been a bracing reminder of what my actual most important responsibility is to my children.

I’m not saying that we’re not teaching reading and writing here.  I’m saying that we teach in fun and in love and in preparing our children to be the person God wants them to be.  All the history, science, Latin or other good things in the world won’t matter if my children don’t accept Jesus as their savior.  Homeschooling can’t save their souls, but I should be showing them Jesus daily as a primary part of my day.  I know I write about this a lot, but it’s just because I need the constant reminders in my life!!

2 thoughts on “The Most Important Work (for a Homeschool Parent)

Leave a Reply

