La La Logic {A TOS Review Crew Review}

La La Logic

This year, we’re adjusting to having two new preschoolers into our homeschool.  I’m on the hunt for fun and excellent preschool materials where basic skills, as well as literacy and math skills are taught without it seeming like too much “work” for my little ones.  So, when I received the opportunity to review the Preschool Curriculum from La La Logic, I was hoping it would be something that would fit the bill for them.

Features of the Curriculum

This is blended online/offline curriculum.  There are 100 weeks of online materials, as well as sheets to print off each week.  So, you’ll need a computer with a connection to the internet, as well as a printer, paper, and scissors and some simple household items to complete the offline enrichment tasks.

This curriculum is targeted at ages 3-6, and if you have a young child who is not good with a mouse, you could use the online components on a tablet.  However, I was able to use my main computer and mouse successfully, and I used this curriculum with my four and five year old children.  However, I also successfully used some enrichment portions of this curriculum with my eight and ten year olds (I’ll explain later in the review.)

The curriculum comes with a suggested weekly schedule, and I’m going to go through the weekly schedule, explaining the elements as I go:

Day 1–This day includes Brain Challenge (with assistance if needed) and optional extra practice.  The Brain Challenge is the online portion of the La La Logic.  It consists of 5-10 minutes of games/exercises on the computer.  These can be identify matching letters/pictures, figuring out which is greater, matching patterns, listening for specific numbers of beats, filling in missing puzzle pieces, and so much more.

Number Detective

There’s also an extra practice portion of of the Brain Challenge where you can pick specific types of games to strengthen your child’s skills.  The Brain Challenge can also be played on continuous mode as an app or game.  We haven’t done that so far because the children love the Brain Challenge so much that they might spend the rest of the day on La La Logic if we were to put it into continuous mode!!

Day 2–On this day you do an offline enrichment set that you can do with your child.  These vary.  Some are stories with activities to do with them.  Others are math games.  There are social/emotional games.  There’s literacy development.  However, each week has a focus for both of the enrichment days.  For example, one week that was really popular with my children had a social/emotional focus.  On day 2 of the enrichment day, we drew faces on a dry-erase board and the children identified the emotion that the children had.  Then, they practiced making faces with that same emotion in the mirror.

Day 3–On this day your child does the same Brain Challenge that they did on day 1 without your assistance.

Classifying into Categories

They also have a worksheet to complete on day 3.  You can print these off each week (along with the enrichment sets) in the download section of a week.  These help with fine motor skills like cutting, drawing lines, gluing and coloring.  They also take the skills that are part of the brain challenge and bring them into worksheet form.  They do classifying, drawing paths, shadow matching and other fun skills.

Day 4–This day has you doing a follow-up/second day to the Enrichment Set that you introduced in day 2.  For the example above of the emotions and faces day, our day four enrichment had us role-playing different scenarios and coming up with scenarios to act out the faces and discuss the emotions that we had discussed in day 2.  We also took the opportunity to complete some additional (optional) written enrichment that the curriculum author suggests in the enrichment set.  We made journaling pages where they drew a picture and copied the phrase “Today I feel__________”  Then, we filled in the blank and discussed our feelings.

Day 5–On the fifth day, it’s optional to complete the Brain Challenge online one more  time.  Then, there’s a space for you to fill in a family fun activity of your own choosing.

How We Used the Curriculum

Despite the day listings, those are just guidelines, and we found ourselves got through the curriculum a little differently than the suggested rhythm.  I have allowed my children to move through the brain challenges at their own paces.  They’re around week 32-33 on working through those.  They love them and ask to do them every day.  In fact, my four  and five year olds’ school day (and sometimes Saturday) request is, “Can we play La La Logic?”

story narration

I’ve printed the enrichment sets off and saved them as we’ve went.  We’re only about five weeks into the enrichment activities because we spent two weeks (or a little more) as a whole family doing enrichment activities that went along with the story in the first week on our enrichment days.  (I love her story or poetry enrichment weeks.)  We’re completing the weeks in order, but we’re doing them at our own pace.  There are plenty of enrichment weeks that are just preschool specific, but there are some that are awesome for my second grader and fourth grader too.  It just really depends on the week.

As we work through the enrichment activities for the week, I also have my preschoolers (and occasionally my 2nd grader) work through the worksheet for the week.

My Thoughts on the Curriculum

This is a curriculum I truly love.  The online games are fun and easy, but the difficulty builds in, making it truly challenging and educational for preschoolers.  My preschoolers ask to play the brain challenge games, and if I neglect to allow time for them, I’m reminded at the end of the day.

I love the enrichment activities.  Some weeks, like on a math week, there’s a fun game that you can play.  Other weeks, it’s much more of a gentle unit study on a book or poem.  The big and heavy weeks are balanced out with the lighter weeks, and you can choose to do as much or as little as you want to with them.  I also loved including my 8 and 10 year old in the heavier story units.  It created a whole family gentle learning experience that is one of my ideals for my homeschool.

My five year old (in typical boy fashion) usually hates to sit in front of a worksheet, but there’s so little paper work, even if you’re using some optional written suggestions in the enrichment activities, that he doesn’t complain about the work load with this.  It’s a very gentle curriculum and it’s perfect for short, preschooler attention spans.

pattern memory

The one thing about this program, if you’re deciding to use it as the backbone for your curriculum for your 3 or 4 year old (and that’s entirely possible), is that there isn’t an emphasis on teaching letters or numbers past 10.  There are visual discrimination activities where your children will sort M from N or W from M but, there’s not a phonics emphasis or letter recognition emphasis.  There are some optional enrichment activities in the curriculum that give you some extra suggestions for helping children who are more advanced and ready to take those steps into reading and writing.  However, I will be using an additional phonics program alongside this program with my little ones to reinforce letter sounds and beginning reader skills.

Another thing I absolutely love is that I haven’t had to purchase a single thing to go with this curriculum.  Everything it calls for is something I have sitting in my house.  There’s a worksheet or pattern that needs printed out occasionally, but everything else I’ve needed has been either a household item or something that was already a part of my homeschool supplies (like glue sticks or scissors).  This is a delight to this budget conscious Mama.

I don’t think you can go wrong with this preschool curriculum with your three year old or preschooler.  If you’re taking a gentle approach with a kindergartener (like I will be this year), this is also a great program for kindergarten. One hundred weeks of curriculum is a lot of curriculum for a little price.  It’s fun and it’s easy to implement.  This is a curriculum we’ll be sticking with, and it gets my highest recommendation.

Crew Disclaimer

La La Logic Review

3 thoughts on “La La Logic {A TOS Review Crew Review}

Leave a Reply

