Praying Upside Down {A Tyndale House Review}

Praying Upside Down

My prayer life feels stale sometimes, and sometimes it’s totally focused on myself in a way that I know cannot be pleasing towards God.  So, as I struggle against that, I feel like I’m constantly searching for a new way to relate to God,.  When I saw Kelly O’Dell Stanley’s book, Praying Upside Down: A Creative Prayer Experience to Transform Your Time with God, I knew I wanted to take some time to get more acquainted with it.

When I first received the book, I was a little skeptical.  There were prayer palette suggestions at the end of each chapter that seemed, on the surface, to be strange to this Baptist girl, involving different forms of journaling, and sometimes even drawing!  My skeptical self almost put this book down.

However, I decided to give it a shot and I wound up captivated by this peek into the author’s prayer life.  She relates examples of times when she felt like God didn’t answer her, times when God didn’t answer the way she would have liked and times when the answer seemed to be a perfect one for her life.  Along the way, Stanley, who is an artist, shares different art techniques and relates each technique back to prayer, giving you multiple avenues into a fresh relationship with God.

I ended up finding this book highly relatable, and full of ways to rethink my prayer life as I move forward.  This one actually ends up earning a space on my permanent shelf because I think many of the ideas with art and the prayer palette suggestions would be great for me to work through with the children that I teach the the other women I might disciple.

Disclosure:  I received a complimentary copy of this book free from the publisher.  Thank you!!  I wasn’t required to write a positive review.

One thought on “Praying Upside Down {A Tyndale House Review}

Leave a Reply

