Dandelion: A Spring Nature Study

DandelionNature study is one of my failures as a Mom.  That’s a real homeschool confession.  I don’t like the cold weather in the winter, and in the summer I only want to be in the swimming pool.  Although spring and fall could still brim with endless potential, I often don’t even think about it.

So, I decided that this year I’m going to dip my toe into a couple of nature studies–simple ones that don’t demand a lot of me.  Instead, I decided to watch and see what my children were interested in when we went outside.  Then, I thought I could make a couple of activity suggestions for the children based on that.

So, watching my two preschoolers play at both my mother’s house and on a field trip we were on this week, I noticed how much they both loved dandelions.  They would often pick them up and hand them to me as gifts.  Other times, they would pick one up, make a wish and blow dandelion fluff all over the yard.

So, with that in mind, I decided to put together this list of simple resources.  I’m going to be pulling for them for suggestions for both activities and reading for the children the next time we go to the library.

Dandelion Books

The Dandelion Seed by Joseph Anthony.  This book tells the story of the journey of a single dandelion seed.  It also has a follow-up book called The Dandelion Seed’s Big Dream.

The Dandelion’s Tale by Kevin Sheehan and Rob Dunlavey.  This story tells the tale of an unusual friendship between a dandelion and a sparrow.

A Dandelion’s Life (Nature Upclose) by John Himmelman.  This is a beautiful look at a dandelion’s life cycle.

Dandelions: Stars in the Grass by Mia Posada.

Dandelion Crafts

Dish Brush Dandelions–Crafty Morning (Just need paint and a dish brush!)

How to Draw a Dandelion from Paperblog.  This is a gel pen drawing that even this Momma wants to give a try.

Q Tip Dandelion from No Time For Flash Cards

I Wish writing craftivity

Dandelion Seed Activity from Five Orange Potatoes.  This art activity uses actual dandelion seeds on it 🙂

Dandelion Blow Painting by Teach Preschool.  This one mixes some science on seed dispersal in.

Duct Tape Dandelions from 101 Duct Tape Crafts.

Dandelion Fun

Dandelion Crowns by Wabi-Sabi Wanderings.  I can imagine my girls both wearing beautiful dandelion crowns…or making necklaces like I used to make as a child.

Spring Flower Sensory Bottle from My Little 3 and Me.  Owlet is still young enough to take delight in playing and looking at a bottle like this one.

Dandelion Massage Oil from Twig and Toadstool

Dandelion Play Dough from Wildflower Ramblings

And there you have it.  Some of the dandelion activities I’ve seen that I think look the most fun.  So, what would you do with dandelions?

If you’re looking for more spring nature study, just click the graphic below for a Crew Round-up of Spring Nature study ideas.  (Link goes live 4/22)

Nature Study for Your Homeschool

5 thoughts on “Dandelion: A Spring Nature Study

  1. Fun study. I have an instrumental piece that goes with my early childhood music curriculum that acts out the life cycle of a dandelion. Ours are just barely starting to come up around here, so we’ll be do that soon in my class!

Leave a Reply

