NIV Proclamation Bible {A BookLook Bloggers Review}

NIV Proclamation Bible

I can never resist the opportunity to review a good looking Bible.  In fact, I may be reaching a place in my house where I could fill up a couple of shelves in my house just with my different (and all necessary to me) Bibles.  So, of course, when I received the opportunity to review NIV Proclamation Bible: Correctly Handling the Word of Truth, I enthused about having a new Bible to put on my shelf.

This is a handsome Bible.  When you take off the dust cover, the book is a lovely dark hardcover blue.  The text is large.  There are two beautiful silver ribbons.  The text is double-column with cross-references running down the middle margin.  There are essays on textual interpretation that are very interesting and helpful in the beginning of the Bible.  There are also nice essays to introduce each section of Biblical literature and each book of the Bible.  These essays have additional references to commentaries that you can purchase to find out more about each book.

I really like  how the passages also have parallel passages written over the top of them.  This is especially helpful in Kings and Chronicles or in the Gospels so that the reader can compare the stories within different books (or different sections of the same book).  That’s a nice feature.

The cross-references are well done, and the concordance is one of the more generous ones I’ve seen.  It’s well done, and to me the style of the Bible, the size of the text and the concordance, cross-references and labeling of parallel passages are well worth the price of the Bible.

I do find one thing befuddling though.  The publisher markets this Bible as a study Bible, and while it is a good reference Bible, it is not a study Bible.  There are no study notes or in-depth commentaries that would give credence to the term “study Bible.”  However, if you’re not going into it expecting a study Bible, this is a very well done NIV reference Bible.

Disclaimer:  I received a copy of this book from BookLook Bloggers and the publisher.  My opinions are my own and I was not required to write a positive review.

Leave a Reply

