The Set-Apart Woman {A Tyndale House Review}

set apart woman

Very seldom do I find a book that challenges me and that I just can’t put down.  Many books tend to flow together until I’m not sure what I’ve read or where I’ve read it.  However, that is not the case with Leslie Ludy’s new book The Set-Apart Woman: God’s Invitation to Sacred Living.  I found myself drawn to it’s pages and barely able to set it down as I listened to it’s wise counsel and stories of how to live a set-apart life.

Ludy begins her book with a premise that is similar different from many of the books I’ve read recently on Christian living.  Her premise is that the reason why Christianity isn’t reaching the world that we live in isn’t that Christianity isn’t culturally relevant, it’s the Christians  are not truly any different from those who are not Christians.  She says that we should instead cling to the cross, and be different from those who are not saved.  She doesn’t mean this in a legalistic way.  Legalism, after all, is an attempt to justify yourself through rule making.  Instead, Ludy contends that as we get closer to Jesus, we’ll naturally gravitate towards doing the things that would please him and eliminating a lot of the things that we surround our lives with.

Unlike a couple of the other books I’ve read that are in this genre of becoming set-apart, this isn’t written for the Christian audience at large.  Instead, Ludy targets women, and often reminds women of their specific weaknesses with fear, emotions and gossip that can keep us from seeing God’s promises and actions clearly.  I found it incredibly convicting and challenging, especially the section on avoiding mushy thinking.

So, if you’re looking for a great book that will help you to build a deeper intimacy in your relationship with Christ, I believe this is a good book to start with.  Lucy also includes a list of recommended reading that will help you to deepen your faith in Christ and to ignite the passion to live the way that Christ would have you to live for him.

Disclaimer:  I received a complimentary copy of this book from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for my honest thoughts on this book.

4 thoughts on “The Set-Apart Woman {A Tyndale House Review}

  1. I loved a glimpse into your day! And we are on almost that same exact page of the Orphs story. My daughter is a slow reader and we trade back and forth with the reading. 🙂

Leave a Reply

