The Seven Beatitudes of Revelation

Seven Beatitudes

I’ve mentioned from time to time that the children and I participate in Community Bible Study.  It’s a great experience for us as both a time of bonding and friendship with other ladies and children.  It’s a wonderful way to sequentially study through books of the Bible and compare scripture with scripture as the Holy Spirit speaks to you.

This year we’ve studied through Daniel and (at this point) most of Revelation.  It’s a study that I never would have picked for myself as apocalyptic literature isn’t really my thing.  I’ve always been of the mind that since my church teaches a pre-tribulation rapture, I didn’t have to worry about what might happen in the end times.

However, this year has been a transformative year for me in Bible study.  This is the year that I’ve truly grown to understand the importance of prayer.  Prayer matters, and I never before knew whether or not prayer mattered to God.  I know that’s the Sunday School answer that many people are looking for, but that’s the truth.  I’ve grown by leaps and bounds in my relationship with God because in these two books have really taught me the importance of prayer to God and to the spiritual warfare going on around me that I can’t see with my own two eyes.

So, sometimes something happens in Bible study that is so good, that you feel you have to share.  This morning, I was reading and working on answering questions in my Revelation workbook when I found a question so good that I just had to share it with you guys.

We’ve been reading about the horrific bowl judgments upon the earth and their affects, and the way the those who are opposed to God continue on unrepentant.  In the midst of such horror, the author of the Revelation workbook takes the time to pull back the shades on ‘The Seven Beatitudes of Revelation.”  These are seven promises of blessing in Revelation that give us ways to experience real joy, and sometimes to avoid real grief.  I needed this morning, in the midst of God’s judgement to see that there are also promises of blessing.

I decided immediately that I wanted to share all seven of these beatitudes with you guys in the hopes that they might inspire someone.

Revelation 1: 3: Blessed is he that readeth, and they that hear the words of this prophecy, and keep those things which are written therein: for the time is at hand.

Revelation 14: 13: And I heard a voice from heaven saying unto me, Write, Blessed are the dead which die in the Lord from henceforth: Yea, saith the Spirit, that they may rest from their labours; and their works do follow them.

Revelation 16:15: Behold, I come as a thief,  Blessed is he that watcheth, and keepeth his garments, lest he walk naked, and they see his shame.

Revelation 19:9: And he saith unto me, Write, Blessed are they which are called unto the marriage supper of the Lamb.And he saith unto me, These are the true sayings of God.

Revelation 20:6: Blessed and holy is he that hath part in the first resurrection: on such the second death hath no power, but they shall be priests of God and of Christ, and shall reign with him a thousand years.

Revelation 22:7: Behold, I come quickly: blessed, is he that keepeth the sayings of the prophecy of this book.

Revelation 22:14:  Blessed are they that do his commandments, that they may have right to the tree of life, and may enter in through the gates into the city.

Those are some powerful and encouraging blessings, but I think the promise of blessing in Revelation 1:3 of the blessings to those who read and keep the words of this book are the most important in my life today.  I didn’t have to wait until heaven to receive the blessings of this book as the study of this book has affected the way that I’ll live the rest of my life.

So, what about you?  Have you ever studied the book of Revelation?  Do you have a favorite portion of this book or a blessing in these beatitudes that is meaningful to you?

One thought on “The Seven Beatitudes of Revelation

  1. I was intimidated by Revelation at first, but after Dr. Jeremiah’s study of Revelation it is now my favorite book. It has drastically changed the way I view Christianity, in a positive way, and brought me closer than ever to Jesus. I understand our purpose here and what is to come. I no longer fear and rejoice in His praise!

Leave a Reply

