God’s Story in 66 Verses {A BookLook Review}

God's Story

I have recently found myself longing for more reference books to help with my study of the Bible and my writing.  So, I was pretty interested in the new book by Stan Guthrie,God’s Story in 66 Verses: Understand the Entire Bible by Focusing on Just One Verse in Each Book.  In this book, Guthrie chooses one verse from each book of the Bible to be his key verse to understanding the theme and main events of each book of the Bible.

I must say that I think that’s a brilliant way to look at each book of the Bible.  Not only does he  choose a key verse to organize the book of the Bible, he then speaks to the theme of the book and creates an outline of the events of the book.  He also often provides additional verses within the book to back up his choice of key verse and then closes his look at specific books of the Bible by showing us a small picture of Jesus within that book of the Bible.

It’s highly readable and easy to understand.  It’s written for the layperson and not the scholar.  I also think it’s a great starting point for a teacher who is looking to teach a survey through the Bible and is looking for a starting place.  You could build a series around the “66 key verses” that Guthrie has chosen.  This one is going into my permanent collection for both my husband and I to reference and, at some point, use as a teaching tool.

Disclaimer:  I received a copy of this book through the BookLook Bloggers Program.  I was not required to write a positive review and my opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

