All The Places to Go How Will You Know Review

all the places to go

Sometimes when we’re trying to make a decision, it can be hard to know what God has to say.  What shall we do?  What choice should we make?  So, when I got the chance to review All the Places to Go . . . How Will You Know?: God Has Placed before You an Open Door. What Will You Do?, I felt sure that I would receive some good advice for dealing with these difficult decisions in our lives.

John Ortberg begins his writing about making choices by building off of Jesus’s letter to the church at Philadelphia in Revelation 3. In these verses Jesus says,

To the angel of the church of Philadelphia write: “These are the words of him who is holy and true, who holds the key of David.  What he opens no one can shut, and what he shuts no one can open. I know your deeds.  See, I have placed an open door that no one can shut.  I know that you have little strength, yet you have kept my word and not denied my name.”

Ortberg wants us to understand that this open door is one that comes from God.  God is the one who opened the door and all we have to do is to make the decision on whether or not we’re going to go through the door.

As we go through the book, we are shown the differences between people who tend to go through doors and people who don’t, overcoming the fear of missing out, myths about doors, making a decision between more than one open door, how to cross a threshold, what you can learn about yourself from open doors , why we don’t go through open doors and about the thankfulness that we can have sometimes for closed doors.

There’s a lot of great information in here, and I feel as if I gleaned some important ideas about decision making, especially from the chapters where Ortberg is discussing common myths that people believe about open doors and what keeps us from entering through open doors.

I find that sometimes my view of God and what he wants from me is skewed.  I begin to think that the open doors in my life are all about me, and I forget that these open doors are divine opportunities from God in my life and that it is my job to lean towards going through those doors.  I’ve never regretted the doors I’ve went through, and once or twice God has drug me through a door that I, like Jonah, didn’t really want to go through.

So, if you’re looking for advice to help you manage the open doors in your life, and to help you to recognize where they are, this book is a fantastic resource to help you along the path.  I’m keeping it on my bookshelf because, odds are, I’m probably going to need to read it again.

Disclosure:  I received a complimentary copy of this book from Tyndale House Publishing.  I was not required to write a positive review and my opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

