Aloof Review

aloof

Sometimes God feels distant.  Any of us who have been going to church, praying, and reading the Bible can attest that there are times when God feels very far away from us.  So, it was with interest that I picked up and began reading the book Aloof: Figuring Out Life with a God Who Hides by Tony Kriz.

Aloof contains the thoughts and the musings through a life of faith.  These musings are prompted by a nephew’s cruel cancer diagnosis, and continue from Kriz’s first encounter with God at the age of four all the way through the present day.  These musings contain stories and memories from his life as well as the applications that he finds with them for a relationship with God and for a life lived in search of our encounters with Him.

I found Aloof to be compelling.  I found that Kriz often brings up hard questions, questions he doesn’t completely answer, but leaves you instead to reflect on and answer for your own life.  As someone who spends much of my time working with children, I found his reflections on how children have spiritual lives and a theology of their very on to be some of the most poignant and moving writing on children and their spirituality that I’ve read in the recent past.  As for the rest, I found myself reading how he often didn’t feel that he had encountered God in a situation where I could see God all over the pages of the situations he was in.  Maybe that’s why we need this kind of writing, so that we can shine a mirror up to ourselves and those around us in order to see what is clearly.  Either way, Aloof is a lovely, interesting read and wonderful opportunity for self-examination and reflection on the ways that you interact with God and where you can see His hand in your own life.

Disclosure:  I received a copy of this book through the Booklook Blogger Program in exchange for an honest review.  My opinions are my own.

2 thoughts on “Aloof Review

Leave a Reply

