A Study in Scarlet

I’m guest posting today over at Future Flying Saucers about my personal interest in Sherlock Holmes.  I know it’s odd thinking that I might have a literary interest beyond How to Train Your Dragon, but I recently had the opportunity to re-read A Study in Scarlet and write down a few thoughts about it.

A Study in Scarlet

 

A couple of years ago, when I first watched the Robert Downey Jr. versions of the Sherlock Holmes movies, I realized that there was something amiss for me. I felt as if I had been dropped into the middle of a story that I didn’t understand. Watson was getting engaged. Holmes was irritated with Watson. Watson absolutely, positively wasn’t going to work with Holmes again, but he found himself getting sucked into yet one more case.

As much as I enjoyed the movies, I felt as if there was some larger Sherlock Holmes universe and bigger back story that I was just seeing the tip of the iceberg on in the movies that I was watching. So I decided, around about the time that my older daughter got interested in learning more about detectives and reading mysteries to read some of Arthur Conan Doyle’s work on Sherlock Holmes. However, I wanted to make sure that I started from the very beginning, so I began with A Study in Scarlet.

Head on over to Future Flying Saucers to Read the rest of the article.

Leave a Reply

