Faith: Overcoming and the World

Faith

Not too long ago, I was reading from my Bible in First John chapter 5.  It was a really appropriate chapter for me to read.  After all, faith is something I’ve always struggled with.  I find myself sometimes feeling like my prayers are hitting a ceiling and not going anywhere.  I sometimes feel like God isn’t listening.

Even worse, I begin comparing myself to others and find myself feeling worse off.  I find myself wondering over God’s care.  I knew when God called us to homeschool and for me to not work outside the home that I was making a sacrifice, but since I am a spoiled girl who was used to buying whatever I wanted and Disney vacations, the sacrifice of self is not always an easy one.  It’s then that I realize my own selfishness, my own sin-sickness, and my own need for God.  (That’s a post for another day though.)

I’m definitely not an overcomer.

Most days I’ve barely kept everything together for long enough to make it through the day.

I find myself carried away with my earthly cares and worldly desires, completely forgetting my determination not to let God’s word be choked out in my life by my earthly cares.

Then, I come across a verse like I John 5:4:

For whatsoever is born of God overcometh the world: and this is the victory that overcometh the world, even our faith.

If that isn’t an exciting verse to you, placed in context, I John 5:1 says that:

Whosoever believeth that Jesus is the Christ is born of God: and every one that loveth him that begat loveth him also that is begotten of him.

So that means that by definition, we who are believers in Christ Jesus are born of God.  That means that we who are believers in Christ Jesus are overcomers.  We’ve already overcome the world through our faith–even on those messy days when it seems as if we’re drowning.

I am born of God through Jesus.

I am an overcomer.

God sees me as an overcomer through my faith–even when I can’t see it.

Just knowing this is enough to give me the strength to get through the day and to hold on to my faith.  I want to be the person God sees me as.  I want to live my life as an overcomer.

4 thoughts on “Faith: Overcoming and the World

  1. We are enough, because He is enough.
    Have you ever listened to Casting Crowns ‘Who am I?

    It moves me to tears every single time. God’s message is so simple and yet we do like to try to complicate things.

    1. It has been a long time since I’ve heard that song, Claire. I’ve been battling feeling the “less thans” and the “I should be” lately, so thank you for the encouragement.

Leave a Reply

