This Week

I didn’t pull out the camera very much this week.  We spent most of our time either reading or drawing, so the camera was just kind of hanging around and not getting used very much.  I was a little surprised when I downloaded the pictures because I had pictures of the projects and books, but almost none of the kids.  I guess it was just one of those weeks!

We did a bunch of reading.  We read The Silent Stranger, First Flight: The Story of Tom Tate and the Wright Brothers to go along with our history studies, How to Speak Dragonese, and How to Cheat a Dragon’s Curse.  I’m actually going to discuss these books more in my post tomorrow, but I will say today that it was sad to be finished reading the last Kaya book.  It’s like parting with an old friend.

books

As I shared yesterday, How to Speak Dragonese inspired us to create some dragon art.  You can see my post yesterday for bigger pictures and our links to the tutorials we used, but here’s a quick collage of our finished works of art.

dragon drawing

Firecracker continued working on his Pokemon notebook.  He notebooked through Pipup and all his evolvements.  He also added Munchlax and Snorlax to the notebook.  I’ve been writing these with him and sometimes allowing him to dictate writing to me.  This week, I began to hand off the duties of writing to him, although I’m still helping him research and find the coloring sheets he’s using to make his pictures.

pokemon notebook

The other three children have all spent large amounts of time working their way through some puzzles they received for Christmas.  Owlet especially is a very persistent puzzle maker.

puzzles

We also worked a little on the third day of creation in our Purposeful Design workbooks.  This is more of the unfinished curriculum that we reviewed last year that we’ve gone back and picked up when we want to have something schoolish to do.  We read the whole Purposeful Design book and started working through the workbook, but we kind of fell off with the holidays.  So, we decided to pick it back up this week.

We also finished a study in history on the Wright Brothers and some other famous inventors of the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.  Then, we began working through our lessons on WWI.  I am finding these lessons interesting to watch and listen too as much as the children are because I didn’t know a lot about WWI, so it’s a new area of interest for me as well.

notebooks

That’s really about it for us, other than our Revelation workbooks from Community Bible Study and our AWANA books.  We didn’t even do any preschool other than playing with the letter F on Starfall and reading aloud picture books.

So, how was your week?

6 thoughts on “This Week

    1. My hubby told me yesterday that we’re going to have to find a Pokemon AA once Firecracker loses interest in Pokemon because we’ve all enjoyed it so much 🙂

    1. LOL! It’s a Japanese cartoon and series of video games. It is something that Firecracker and his Dad can really bond over (because he’s really into things like that too), and as we watch more of the cartoon episodes, the whole family has ended up really enjoying it. As for why it’s always on my weekly wrap-up, I’m just glad that my son, who hates writing, is excited to write a few sentences about each of them.

Leave a Reply

