Keep It Shut Review

Keep it Shut

 

I’ve always struggled with conversations.  I often share too much, don’t share enough, make it all about myself, or just say the wrong thing.  I’ve also struggled with my Hubby and children.  I often find myself speaking in tones of anger, withholding affection and saying things that are harmful to them and to my relationship to them.  I’ve always heard from Proverbs that a wise woman builds her house, but a foolish one tears it down with her own hands.

So, when I received an opportunity to review Keep It Shut: What to Say, How to Say It, and When to Say Nothing at All by Karen Ehman, I was very hopeful that she would have something to say to me and to my life.

In this book, Ehman teaches you when you’re gossiping, how to converse in social media, dealing with family members, how to stop being a “gap filler,” how to pause and not attack a person just because there ‘s a problem to deal with, and what the Bible teaches about the tongue and making your speech laced with grace.

I found myself often underlining passages, nodding in agreement and stinging in conviction as I read this book.  One of the early passages in the book that really hit with me was when Ehman was talking about when she and her husband have a disagreement and how one of them might give the other the cold shoulder.  As Ehman says, “When we give someone the cold shoulder, but we’re spewing out our feelings just the same.”

Another passage that really helped me was the one on dealing with difficult family, co-workers, etc.  She reminds us that  God knows who he’s putting in our lives and they’re not there by accident.  Everyone in our lives, from the person who’s easy to love to the person who rubs us like holy sandpaper, is there because God placed them there.  Accepting that allows me the room to extend grace to those who are more difficult to love.

I found this book to be really helpful, and I believe that I’ll be reading it again soon to glean more help in the use of my tongue and to spend some time with some of the challenges that Ehman sprinkles throughout the book.

Disclaimer:  I received a complimentary copy of this book through BookLook bloggers program.  I was not required to write a positive review and my opinions are my own.

One thought on “Keep It Shut Review

  1. Sigh, the tongue is the hardest part of the body to control, isn’t it? This is a great review and sounds as if it would be helpful for almost everyone.

Leave a Reply

