Own Your Life Review

Own Your Life

I’ve long been a fan of Sally Clarkson.  I’ve followed her blog, read many of her books, and found her wisdom and spiritual maturity to be a great guide to me at my stage of life.  So, when I received the opportunity to review Own Your Life: Living with Deep Intention, Bold Faith, and Generous Love, I jumped at the chance.  As I finished reading it this week, I can honestly say that I was not disappointed.  I was thrilled and often challenged with the message and writing in this book.

In Own Your Life, Clarkson begins with the premise that many of us are just drifting through our life, allowing it to happen to us and not taking the responsibility for what happens.  We’re not living with purpose or with the idea of leaving a legacy.  Clarkson reminds us that we are in charge of our decisions, our behavior, and ultimately becoming the person that God created us to be.

Clarkson begins by discussing the barriers to owning your life.  These barriers include not being saved, chasing after idols and busyness, and listening to the voices in our head that tell us that we’re not worthy.  In the words of Clarkson on idols:

What are your idols, or the habits that steal your heart?  What consumes your energy, time, focus and money and takes away from time pursuing God?  What do you hold on to that you hope will make you happy and bring fulfillment?  What are the empty pursuits of your own life?  Until you identify those areas that unnecessarily rob you of time , you will continue on the hamster wheel endlessly.

Once you’ve removed some of these barriers from your life, then you are ready to begin focusing on owning your relationship with Christ, your mental and emotional health and your relationships with others.  Along the way, Clarkson gives warm and friendly advice, shares various helpful scripture and offers options for points of action, journaling and reflection.  Clarkson’s voice is that of a mother, big sister or beloved aunt who is further along the path and can show you the path ahead.

I found the information in this book to be valuable and much needed.  In a world full of people who are willing to just let life happen to them, it’s refreshing and wonderful to find a voice willing to counsel you to take charge of and responsibility for your own decisions.

Disclosure:  I received a complimentary copy of this book from Tyndale House publishers.  I was not required to write a positive review, and my opinions are my own.

2 thoughts on “Own Your Life Review

Leave a Reply

