The KJV Note-Taker’s Bible Review

KJV Note-Taker's Bible

I like to write in my Bible.  It’s the perfect place to underline phrases, write down the meanings of words, answers to prayers and all the things that God is revealing to me as I write.  I also attend a church where the primary Bible used in teaching and preaching the the King James Version.  So, when I got the chance to review the KJV Note-Taker’s Bible, I felt like is was an opportunity I shouldn’t pass up on.

The KJV Note-Taker’s Bible  by Zondervan is really a basic no-frills type of Bible.  There’s a nice concordance in the back, but there are no maps, no references and no commentary to distract you from what the Holy Spirit reveals to you as you read through your Bible.  The words of Christ are in red, and the hardcover bookends have a nice subtle black plaid feel to them.  The text is two column, and the edges and bottom of the page each have an approximate inch of margin to write or take notes in.

This is a great Bible if you want to write a few cross-references or take down a note or two during a sermon, but if you seriously write in your Bible there’s just not enough space, especially with the two column format.  This Bible design would be highly improved by additional writing margins in the center so that notes can be taken to go along with both columns of text.  Additional space at the top or bottom would also be nice for those of us who want to write short sentences instead of just keywords and verse references.  Also, even though the text is standard size, once you start boxing around words to write definitions the space of the text begins to feel more than a little cramped.

Disclosure:  I received a copy of this book through the BookLook Bloggers program.  I was not compensated for this review, and I was not required to write a positive review.

2 thoughts on “The KJV Note-Taker’s Bible Review

    1. I’m about to go check your review out because I was fighting frustration with this Bible again this morning when I went to write one word in the tiny middle margin and was having to scrunch things up!!

Leave a Reply

