Forever Mom Review

Forever Mom

We haven’t adopted.  I don’t know if we ever will.  However, I feel compelled to read about adoption and to learn more.  So, when I had the opportunity to review Forever Mom: What to Expect When You’re Adopting by Mary Ostyn, I knew I wanted to read it.  When I first had my fourth child, I had read her other two books on managing a large family and on budget cooking, and knew that I could trust the advice that she would give.

In this book, Ostyn shares her own stories of adoption, as well as snippets from other bloggers and authors.  She writes about taking the leap of faith, building connections with her children, helping both younger and older children settle in, nurturing your marriage, and about how difficult that connection can be to make.  She finally reminds you of how to lay everything down at the cross, including your idols of what the perfect adoption looks like.

I have to admit that I was blown away by this book in the best way possible.  Ostyn shares her heart and the messy middle of what it’s like to long for that love from a child and to not receive it.  She writes about laying down her pride and her desires for the “perfect” relationship to follow God’s plan for their family. She writes above all about connection and attachment parenting in a way that I can relate to as I deal with my own children.

I know that as I’m doing adoption research, this book is getting a permanent place on my encouragement shelf.

Disclosure:  I received a complimentary copy of this book through the BookLook bloggers program.  I was not required to write a positive review, and I was not compensated for this review.

Leave a Reply

