Beloved Dust Review

Beloved Dust
I had recently confessed that my prayer life felt dry and forced.  I confessed that I felt as if I wasn’t close to God, and as if my prayers were merely lists like to Santa or just one more thing on my to-do list.  The same day I confessed this I received Beloved Dust: Drawing Close to God by Discovering the Truth About Yourself in the mail.  I knew that this was a book sent to me directly from God as soon as I read these words in the introduction:

We make prayer another item on the Christian to-do list.  We allow prayer to serve our idolatrous endeavors for fix-its and experiences.  We allow prayer to undermine a relationship with God by using it as a mechanism to grant us the kind of life we want.

Conviction straight from the introduction!!  As I continued to meander through this book, I found plenty of other areas of conviction and connection with God.  Goggin and Strobel’s thesis is that the reason why we don’t have a meaningful prayer life is that we use prayer as a tool instead of as a point of connection with the Almighty God who loves us.  We are dust, and we are loved, but God isn’t here to give us the life we desire.  Instead our God wants and deserves our constant communion with him.

The text is dense, and at times the book can feel repetitive, especially if you’re reading speedily through it.  This is a book that is meant to be read slowly and contemplatively.  However, I think this is a message that every Christian needs to hear, especially if you’re feeling that your relationship with God and your prayer life is feeling shallow.

Dislcaimer:  I received a complimentary copy of this book from the BookLook Bloggers Program.  I was not required to write a positive review, just an honest one.

One thought on “Beloved Dust Review

Leave a Reply

