From This Day Forward (Review)

From This Day ForwardWhen it comes to marriage, we all need all the encouragement we can get.  After all, we live in a culture where people are disposable, and fighting for your relationship with the one you love the most can easily be put on the backburner.  Even though I have a marriage that is great right now, I’m always looking for all the marriage advice I can get to tuck away for the hard times.  So, I was excited to be able to have a chance to review From This Day Forward: Five Commitments to Fail-Proof Your Marriage by Craig and Amy Groeschel.

In this book Groeschel lays down five principles that will make your relationship with your spouse so strong that it’s “fail proof.”  These are: (1) Seek God, (2) Fight Fair, (3) Have Fun, (4) Stay Pure, and (5) Never Give Up.  They seem simplistic on the surface, but as you listen to Groeschel go through these principles, I believe that you will realize how powerful they can be.

I really enjoyed this book.  Groeschel has a simple, relaxed style, but his words are often very powerful.  At the end of each chapter, his wife Amy writes a few pages giving her view of what this principle means.  As a woman, I think I would have liked to have heard a little more of her voice in this book, but all in all, this is a great book, and if you can only commit to one change–seeking God–I think you’ll find that the benefits of this book are worth the time you spent reading it.

Disclosure:  I received a copy of this book through the BookLook blogger program.  I was not required to write a positive review, and my opinions are my own.

 

Leave a Reply

