Brave Mom (Review)

Brave Mom

Brave Mom: Facing and Overcoming Your Real Mom Fears by Sherry Surrratt is a book that deals with an issue that I believe many moms struggle with.  As we go about our daily lives, we’re filled with worry.  After all, what mom doesn’t worry that she’s going to ruin her child?  Or that her child might get very sick? Or die? Or end up in jail? Or be bullied? Or be a bully? Or be kidnapped?  Sometimes it’s hard to even get to those worries for the worries that we have that we won’t have enough money to provide for our children’s needs (and at least a few of their wants).  I know these are feelings that I face, and from spending time with other moms, I know that they’re common to the feelings that moms have.

What Surratt does in this book is to give moms tools.  She explains to moms where fear comes from, the likelihood of many common mom fears, and allows moms to take some of the pressure off themselves.  After all, God gave the children that you have to you for a reason and you’re the most perfect mom that they’ll ever have.  Surratt, then helps moms to find some tools and ideas for dealing with those fears, and just as importantly, to keep from passing their fears down to their children.

As a mom, I found this book refreshing, helpful and calming.  It’s one I plan on keeping on my shelf for when those mom fears about ruining my children assail me!!

Disclosure:  I received a complimentary copy of this book from the Booklook Bloggers program.  I was not required to write a positive review, and my opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

