A Lifelong Love Review

lifelong love

Everyone wants a marriage that lasts for the rest of their lives.  They don’t just want marriage to be a long-lasting prison of misery either.  Everyone wants their marriage to thrive.  However, oftentimes between the dishes, the laundry, the kids work and the course of every day life, the joy and relationship in marriage tries to fade away.

In the book A Lifelong Love: What if Marriage is About More than Staying Together?, Gary Thomas explores the idea of what our marriage is intended to be and how we can use this to inspire others and to show others Jesus in our lives.  This book goes through many great ideas and gives practical advice for nurturing your marriage in all its stages.

Thomas’s book is split into three sections:

  • The Magnificent Obsession
  • Growing Together
  • The Journey Towards Love

I loved this book, and as I’m someone who writes and underlines in my books, I usually try to underline someone to share with my readers out of many of the books I read.  This book has whole chapters that are almost completely underlined and segments that I read aloud to my husband as I was reading this book.  I don’t want to give you too many spoilers, but I’m going to share a few things with you so that you can be convinced of how wonderful and helpful this book is.

In the first section, one of the first ideas that Thomas tackles is the idea that if we’re God’s children through our faith, then our spouses are also God’s children.  Guess what that means? In the words of Thomas:

So when I realized I was married to God’s daughter–and that you,women,were married to God’s sons–everything about how I viewed marriage changed.  God feels about my wife–His daughter–in an even holier and more passionate way than I feel about my own daughters.  Suddenly, my marriage was no longer about just me and one other person; it was very much a relationship with a passionately interest third partner.  I realized one of my primary forms of worship throughout the rest of my life would be honoring God by taking care of a woman who would always be, in His divine mind, “His little girl.”

And this, of course, is just one paragraph.  It gets even better from here as He reminds us that God gives us everything we need to complete our missions in marriage and that when we focus on God, then our marriages will fall into their right place behind that.

As he comes into the second section of the book, Thomas goes through the common phases of marriages and examines where the weak spots are that you and your spouse can grow closer together or further apart.  He also examines the difference between artificial and real intimacy in your relationship and how you can grow that intimacy as partners in your relationships.

Finally, Thomas explores what love is and how to show it.  By love, he doesn’t mean the Hollywood version of “in love” that so many of us have bought into as the one true thing.  Instead, he means Biblical love and acting in a Biblical way.  In this examination, Thomas takes a chapter to examine I Corinthians 13, and how we can apply that to our marriage relationships.

If you’re wanting to watch a trailer from the book to learn more about it, you can go to the A Lifelong Love website and check it out.  Another great place to go for more is to Gary Thomas’s website and blog.  He writes frequently about marriage and family relationships, so this would be a great place to hang out a while and read more!

I am also excited to say that I have a copy of this book to give away!  I’m going to make it simple, so if you’ll just leave a comment telling me what the most recent thing you’ve done to nourish your marriage relationship is, I’ll enter you into the giveaway.  I’ll probably either use random.org or put your names in a hat and let one of my children draw your name out to determine a winner!  This giveaway will end on November 7, 2014!! Good luck!!

Disclosure (in accordance with the FTC’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising”): Many thanks to Propeller Consulting, LLC for providing this prize for the giveaway. Choice of winners and opinions are 100% my own and NOT influenced by monetary compensation. I did receive a sample of the product in exchange for this review and post.

 Only one entrant per mailing address, per giveaway. If you have won the same prize on another blog, you are not eligible to win it again. Winner is subject to eligibility verification

One thought on “A Lifelong Love Review

Leave a Reply

