Migraines and Weakness

Rose has been memorizing II Corinthians 12:9 for AWANA recently which has given me plenty of time to meditate on the verse as I listen to (and correct) her recitations.  Are you familiar with the verse?  It goes:

And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.

This is in a passage of the Bible where Paul is talking about a fantastic vision that he’s had and how he was also given a thorn in the flesh so that he is not “exalted above measure.”  Despite Paul’s prayers, the answer to removing the thorn in Paul’s flesh is always no, and the Lord gives Paul the words of verse nine as a reminder that His grace is all that Paul needs.  Paul is able to even say in verse 10:

Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in necessities, in persecutions, in distresses for Christ’s sake: for when I am weak, then am I strong.

Sometimes I deal with migraines.  They fluctuate.  Some years, when I was working full-time and in the first years of my marriage, they were a weekly event.  I would pray that God would take them away, that God would heal me, but still the migraines would come.  They would interrupt life and it would be as if I had lost a day without even meaning or wanting too.

One of my most painful memories of Firecracker as a baby was the night I was dealing with a migraine and I had went to bed sick with a headache.  His Daddy couldn’t keep him out of the room as he came and cuddled, snuggling beside me, wanting to be close and offering me comfort when I couldn’t offer him any.

Now, well into my thirties and 15-20 years of dealing with the pain in my head, I have found that over the past two or three years, I have been going through a milder season of headaches.  I can only praise God for the milder headaches I have had over the past few years.  I don’t often see the migraines, and when I do, it’s usually because I’ve become lost in my stresses and worries or I’ve gotten so “busy” I’ve lost sense of what truly matters.  I’m finally old enough (and hopefully wise enough) to realize that trying to do too much on my own will only lead to exhaustion and burnout.  I know I am weak, and I know that I should embrace the rest of doing what I do in his strength.

I am thankful that right now I am in a season of lighter headaches and not migraines.  I have learned over time to be thankful for the total rest that a migraine demands and the warning of the need for rest in a milder headache.  I have learned that stress and worry is toxic to my body, and that the only person who I can take that stress to is God.  When I am I weak, and relying on Him, He gives me his strength for the day ahead.

Leave a Reply

