Messy Beautiful Love Review

I love the Time-Warp Wife blog.  I don’t read it as regularly as I used to, but as a wife with four young children, I have always found Schacht’s blog a great place to find inspiration for focusing on my home and my marriage.  Schacht and her contributors offer honest, Bible-based advice to help you practically embrace Christ and your husband.  So, I knew that I was going to love Schacht’s new book, Messy Beautiful Love: Hope and Redemption for Real-Life Marriages.

Schacht’s book starts off with the premise that we’re all sinners.  We all mess up.  We all do things in our marriage and our daily lives that we later wish we hadn’t done.  No matter how good our marriage is, there’s going to be things we look at in retrospect and realize we made a mess of this or that.  They’ll always be times when trials or our own sins threaten our marriages, but we  don’t have to clean up our marriages on our own.  We can look to God and find that if we surrender our relationship to God, he’ll be faithful to the blessings that he intends us to have.

There’s so much good advice in here that I have a hard time singling out a favorite or advice that is better than all the rest.  This whole book is jam-packed full of honest and God-honoring advice, as well as examples of how this has worked out in the author’s own life.  However, I think the advice in the chapter on giving up your right to be right was written for me as a wife and as a parent.  Sometimes, even when you think you’re right, it’s so much better to be happy than to always have the burden of needing to be right in your own life.  In this chapter, she goes through I Corinthians 13 and discusses how the chapter applies to our marriages.  It’s a wonderful lens through which to view the scripture and our own marriages.

Disclaimer:  I received a complimentary copy of this book through the BookLook Bloggers program.  I was not required to write a positive review, and my opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

