Colliding with Destiny Review

Colliding with Destiny

I recently received the book Colliding with Destiny: Finding Hope in the Legacy of Ruth, and I was looking forward to reading it because it’s been a three or four years since I dug in deeply and really studied Ruth.  Ruth has long been one of my favorite books of the Bible, and so I am always excited to find a new resource to study it.

As I began reading, I was struck by Sarah Jakes, the author and her warm and personal style.  She takes small segments of Ruth in each chapter, and she discusses them devotionally, using ideas and incidents from her own life as examples of how Ruth has been an inspiration for her.  At the end of each chapter, there are journaling prompts and ideas as well as a model prayer to help you if you’re using this as a devotional study.

I found, as I got further into the book that I felt a disconnect with the author.  She often makes leaps in interpretation, making statements, such as the one that Ruth and Orpah must have been best friends without any scriptural substantiation.  She also often spends much more time focusing on the principal she wants to get out of the story in her own life than she does actually focusing on the Biblical account.  In the end, I felt like I read a self-help manual from Sarah Jakes, not a study of Ruth.  I found myself more than a little disappointed.

Still, if you’ve been going through some pain and you’re needing some devotional help finding healing for that, this would be a great place to start.  Just don’t expect to find too much of Ruth between its pages.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers.  I wasn’t required to write a positive review, and my opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

