Jesus Loves Me

This year I’m teaching preschool aged kids in two different Bible classes (in addition to having my own preschoolers at home), so if you see a big uptick in the number of preschool activities I’m posting, you can probably guess why 🙂

One of the places that I’m teaching this year is in Cubbies at my church, and it’s extra special to me because both of my younger children are Cubbies!  Also, I’m excited because AWANA has changed the format of their Cubbies books and this will be my first time teaching through their new book, Honeycomb.  My plan, at this point, is to establish a series of Honeycomb in action, showing how I use some of the activities in the teacher resources and what activities I might be inspired to do based on the lesson plans.  It’s not my highest blog priority though because I know that this information may not be useful for two years, until Honeycomb is taught again.

My first week of teaching this year actually ended up being the second week of the Apple Acres brochure, mostly because we went to the Braves game the first night of class, so I had to miss being with my little Cubbies.  Because of this, I also didn’t end up having my teacher’s book the first night of class, so I had to wing it 🙂

The scripture that goes along with the “Jesus Loves Me” lesson is Mark 10:13-16.

And they brought young children to him, that he should touch them: and his disciples rebuked those that brought them.  But when Jesus saw it, he was much displeased, and said unto them, Suffer the little children to come unto me, and forbid them not: for of such is the kingdom of God. Verily I say unto you, Whosoever shall not receive the kingdom of God as a little child, he shall not enter therein.  And he took them up in his arms, put his hands upon them, and blessed them.

If you’re teaching Cubbies, your commander will probably have ordered you a very nice large set of teaching cards that will make it easy to show the children large pictures as you go through discussing the story.  If not, don’t panic.  This story is in most children’s Bibles, so you should be able to find a storybook Bible that has the story fairly easily.

Because I didn’t have my teacher’s book yet, I couldn’t prep anything from the book yet, and I had to improvise.  I started by bringing another book with me. God Loves Me More Than That is a lovely book that is beautifully illustrated and explores different things and tells me that “God loves me more than…”, “God loves me higher than…”, etc.  It’s a really nice book to have on hand for lessons like this one.

We also sang “Jesus Loves Me” and “Jesus Loves the Little Children.”

123

I also pre-cut this craft out for the children so that they could focus on coloring and gluing down.  This one is Monkey’s, and as you can see, he did a great job with it!

Jesus Loves Me

We also did these heart mosiac sticker sheets that I had left over from Bible school.  This is my sweet Owlet’s sticker page.  Monkey actually managed to use every single sticker and fill up the entire heart, and I was incredibly surprised at that.

124

So, that’s about it for Jesus Loves Me week.  We had cookies that each child put frosting and sprinkles on for snack, and we used the church’s puzzles and legos during our center time.

I look forward to really digging in and improving next week for “A is for All.”  I didn’t like the feeling of scattered unpreparedness I had this week.

 

2 thoughts on “Jesus Loves Me

  1. I love Cubbies, but it seems like they have a new book every other year (I’m sure it’s not that often). Looks like your off to a good start though. God bless you as you teach those little ones!

    1. It feels that way. I had a year I wasn’t teaching in there and they revamped the whole program!! LOL Thanks! I enjoy them 🙂

Leave a Reply

