Strawberry Walnut Ornaments

Today I’m bringing you a simple and messy craft idea that you can stick in your idea file as it gets closer to Christmas.  I know what you’re thinking!!  “It’s still almost four months until Christmas!!”  Still, it helps to have ideas.  If you remember from my cross-stitch updates, I’m frequently stitching about Christmas year round! LOL

Last year, I was putting together baskets for my family.  These baskets generally have small handmade items, ornaments, books, small giftcards, etc.  Everyone in our house chips in and makes or buys stuff for the baskets.  In fact, I look for easy recipes and crafts so that my children can feel a part of giving to others that they love.  Sometimes the children are very excited about what they made.  Sometimes, I’m excited because an idea turns out better than I realized it would, and this is once of those ideas.

I was looking for a way for the toddlers to make Christmas presents for their grandparents and uncles and aunts when I remembered a very old craft idea of painting walnuts for your Christmas tree.  So that’s what we did.

Here’s what you’ll need for this craft:

  • Walnuts
  • Red tempera paint
  • Red glitter
  • Ribbon or yarn (gold, red or green would all work nicely)
  • Small pieces of green felt cut into leaf shapes
  • Hot glue gun

016

I first gave each of my toddlers a paintbrush and let them paint their walnuts red.

015

They seemed to really like doing that!!

018

Once the walnuts were painted, we rolled them around in the red glitter and let them dry for a while.

019

The next day, I got out my hot glue gun and glued yarn onto our walnuts for a hanger and added two green felt “leaves” on each one to cover the place where I glued on the hanger.

Once they were all glued together, we had beautiful strawberries to hang on our tree and to give away to our family from the little kids!

Strawberry Walnut Ornaments

2 thoughts on “Strawberry Walnut Ornaments

  1. These ornaments are adorable! Thanks for linking up at the Thoughtful Spot Weekly Blog Hop! We hope you stop by again next week!

Leave a Reply

