Let’s All Be Brave Review

lets all be brave

I didn’t realize it, but when I was looking through the Booklook Blogger review options this month, God had a perfect plan for a way to spend my reading this month.  I picked out the book Let’s All Be Brave: Living Life with Everything You Have by Annie F. Downs to review solely on the lovely script and hand-drawn look of the cover without considering that I was about to read a book I was going to relate with on so many levels.

Annie Downs is not afraid to admit that she’s not a brave girl.  Even though she felt it was God’s will to move her to Nashville, she cried at the entire time she left her parents house.  Even though she felt called to do some missions work in Scotland, she let a decade pass by before bringing though dreams to fruition.   In fact, Annie says quite frankly, “I don’t think it is fun to risk, to gamble, to possibly lose.  I like safety, smart choices, and learning the easy way.  Tell me it’s a bad idea, and I’m going to believe you.”

Yet, despite Downs’ admissions in the beginning of the book, throughout the book we hear of her doing courageous things because it’s the next step and because it’s what God is telling her to do.  And this is what she wants for her reader.  She’s not asking for you to take unreasonable risks.  What Downs wants to inspire you to do is to be secure enough in your relationship with Jesus and with God’s care for you to take the next reasonable step to follow God’s call in your life.

I found this, as I followed her book through its entirety, to be inspiring.  Sometimes, I feel like because so much of my call is at home with my four little ones and in the children’s classes at church that I love to help out in, I find that I don’t feel very brave.  It’s because I’m taking what seems to me to be the next reasonable step in God’s will for my life, and often what is very brave to me isn’t as brave in someone else’s eyes.

This book was a great read for me because it helped me to reaffirm that I could answer God’s call in all the little things in my life and that they would add up to some pretty amazing big things.  I also was reminded of God’s love and of my security in him.  Every reminder I get of that makes me grateful!

Disclosure:  I received this book as a part of the BookLook Bloggers Program.  I was not required to write a positive review, and my opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

