Can I be Spiderman when I grow up?

This month’s Poppins Book Nook theme is “What will I be when I grow up?”  I was really unsure what to do for this month because I made the mistake of actually asking my children what they wanted to be when they grew up.  This is what they said.

My nine year old: “A rapper.  The music kind.”

My seven year old:  “A weather girl…or maybe a nurse…or maybe a teacher…or a mom”

My four year old: “Spiderman”

My three year old:  “A princess!  I’m going to be Anna!!”

With such great guidance, I didn’t know where to start as I began to sift through the possibilities for this month.  Being a little bit of a free spirit, and always having unrealistic career goals myself, I decided to say “Why not?” to the idea of being Spiderman!

Can I be Spiderman

We read 5-Minute Spider-Man Stories which is a really nice illustrated book of little Spiderman stories that we picked up at BJ’s a few months ago at the begging pleas of my young Spiderman in training.  They show some of Spiderman’s great fights against the really bad guy like “Lizard,” “Dr. Octopus” and “Sandman.”

We already have a Spiderman mask, but if you don’t, you can find some helpful tutorials here or here.  (I don’t know how Hulk got into that picture!  He just always tries to come in and smash things up!!)

Hulk and Spiderman

The next thing we found that was a really cool must-do was this Spider-Man goes Jumping Jack craft from M Gulin.

spiderman paper doll

We’ve spent most of the rest of our time enjoying Spiderman by watching both Amazing Spiderman movies and watching lots of Ultimate Spiderman on Netflix.  Of course, there’s been a lot of playing with superhero toys too!

Of course, who could talk about Spiderman without drawing him and some of his arch-nemeses?  There’s a whole world of possibilities!!

venom vs spiderman

This post is a part of Poppins Book Nook’s “What Do I Want to Be When I Grow Up?” link up.  I’m sure there are many other bloggers you should visit below if you want to see some who’s children are going to have viable money-making careers when they grow up!  Go see them!!

Poppins Book Nook main image 2014 - 2015

Enchanted Homeschooling Mom ~ 3 Dinosaurs ~ To the Moon and Back ~ Planet Smarty Pants ~ Farm Fresh Adventures ~ Growing in God’s Grace ~ Chestnut Grove Academy ~ Learning and Growing the Piwi Way ~ The Usual Mayhem~ Preschool Powol Packets ~ Monsters Ed Homeschool Academy ~ Adventures in Mommydom ~ Teach Beside Me ~ Life with Moore Babies ~ Kathy’s Cluttered Mind ~ Are We There Yet? ~ Our Crafts N Things ~ Hopkins Homeschool ~ ABC Creative Learning ~ Joy Focused Learning ~ P is for Preschooler ~ Laugh and Learn ~ A Mommy’s Adventures ~ Inspiring 2 New Hampshire Children ~ World for Learning ~ Ever After in the Woods ~ Golden Grasses ~ A glimpse of our life ~ Journey to Excellence ~ Happy Little Homemaker ~ Little Homeschool Blessings ~ Raventhreads ~ Tots and Me ~ As We Walk Along The Road ~ Stir the Wonder ~ For This Season ~ Where Imagination Grows ~ Lextin Academy ~ The Canadian Homeschooler ~ School Time Snippets ~ Peakle Pie ~ A Moment in our World ~ Every Bed of Roses ~ Finchnwren ~ At Home Where Life Happens ~ The Library Adventure ~ Embracing Destiny ~ Day by Day in our World ~ Our Homeschool Studio ~ A “Peace” of Mind ~ Thou Shall Not Whine ~ SAHM I am ~ eLeMeNo-P Kids ~ Simple Living Mama

When I Grow Up Bundle Giveaway! Every month the Poppins Book Nook group will be offering readers a chance to win a brand new storybook or product that ties in with our theme for the month. This month one lucky entrant will win a bundle of fun for the theme of When I Grow Up.  This bundle will include a copy of the storybookWhen I Grow Up by Mercer Mayer, one copy of Community Helpers Puzzles by Trend, and one copy of Community Helpers & Careers Pocket Flash Cards by Trend.

Entrants must be 18 years or older and reside in a country that receives U.S. Postal mail. This giveaway is brought to you by the company Enchanted Homeschooling Mom who is owner and founder of the Poppins Book Nook. By entering this giveaway you are also acknowledging that you have read and agree to all of the Rafflecopter terms & conditions as well as Enchanted Homeschooling Mom’s disclosures found here {http://enchantedhomeschoolingmom.org/disclosures/}.  Just enter the Rafflecopter below to win:

 a Rafflecopter giveaway

And now, it’s your turn….Have you blogged about what your child wants to be when he grows up?  Join in our link-up below!!

 

Next month’s theme is “The Wild West.”  I have to tell you guys that unless something really changes with my children over the next month, I have a feeling I’m going to be blogging about my older children’s studies of the Alamo!

(clip art used in this post by: http://www.etsy.com/shop/melonheadzdoodles)

7 thoughts on “Can I be Spiderman when I grow up?

  1. I love their choices of possible occupations, it really gave you a lot of options for activities this month!

    Thank you for helping to bring a spoonful of reading fun to the Poppins Book Nook this month!

Leave a Reply

