This week: Alligators and Vampire Bunnies

If you’re wondering where my “Five Days of Back to School” blog post is, I have decided that instead of bringing you a true back-to-school post today, I’m going to bring you a weekly wrap-up type post.  It kind of fits with my theme of planning for relaxed learning by showing you what my week looks like right now in pictures!  I’ll be back with gathering resources for your homeschool tomorrow, and in the meantime, you can scroll down to the bottom of my post to get back to the main blog hop post!

This week was actually dominated in some ways by jelly making.  My grandmother’s grapes were ripe.  She’s a type 2 diabetic and wasn’t going to use the grapes herself, so she asked me if I wanted to come over and pick some.  The kids and I picked a five gallon bucket full, and we’ve been making jelly ever since.  Rose has been so proud to snack and breakfast on toast with grape jelly that she helped me make 🙂  We’ve made grape juice and put it into jellies almost every day this week!jelly making

I’ve spent most of the rest of the week reading.  We’ve read more alligator books.  The children were delighted by the silliness of Zack’s Alligator and enjoyed the fun illustrations in Alligators All Around.  We also finally got into a little crocodile science with Snap! A Book About Alligators and Crocodiles.  I’m trying to inspire them to do a lapbook on this, but so far they’re not so interested.

We’ve been studying Westward Expansion and The Mexican-American war in history, and we read Pioneer Cat as part of our history curriculum.  I’ve never heard of the book before, but it was cute, sweet and Rose loved it because it had cats in it! LOL

We also read Matilda because we’re continuing our Roald Dahl obsession.  This was Firecracker’s pick and both the older children loved it.

I also took the opportunity to share one of my childhood favorites with the children, and it is Bunnicula: A Rabit-tale of Mystery.  They loved it.  We read it in a couple of days, and I’m hoping to use some teaching ideas that I found to go along with it.

Books

The children weren’t interested in my Bunnicula school ideas this week, but they did enjoy making these Bunnicula felt toys.  Rose and Firecracker made their own, but I made them for the little kids, and I think they turned out really cute!  I’ll probably do a tutorial post at some point, but for now, you get the idea.

bunnicula

The little kids did another alligator craft this week.  This one is from DLTK.  I think we’re probably going to spend just a little more time on alligators and the letter A with the little kids.  I was just trying not to move on until the bigger kids had had enough alligator science.  Really Monkey and Owlet still only want me to do one or two activities with them a day, and then they want me to leave them alone to play with their legos and other toys.

alligator

We finally have moved on with We Choose Virtues, and we chose to focus this week on “Helpful.”  I think Virtues and the characters are still Monkey’s favorite time of the week, and I have two rows of the characters now strung out across my fireplace mantel.

Helpful

Rose, as usual, has spent lots of time drawing and storymaking.  Her brain seldom rests unless she’s watching television, and then she uses it as a springboard for whatever her next creation is!

Rose's drawings

We did more electronic learning this week.  This collage is clockwise from top left:  (1) cartoon drawings on the DS, (2) Essential Skills Advantage, (3) Bejeweled on the computer, and (4) Ubersmart Math Facts.  We’ve been playing tournament style on the Bejeweled, and it’s lots of fun to compete for the high score!

We’ve played so much on the computer recently that the little kids have been really pushy for “Kindle” time.  My Hubby had instituted a daytime ban on it, and now Owlet is walking around telling me to “please forgive her on the Kindle,” and that if I “don’t obey her about the Kindle that I’m going to break her heart.”  I’m so charmed by her pleas and cute mixing of words that I’m sure that I’ll cave soon!!

video games

I also caught bunches of pictures of little kids at play (and one of Owlet falling asleep while coloring because she’s so tired).  I’m especially fond of the picture in the lower right hand corner of the collage below because Monkey and Owlet are pretending to be Beauty and the Beast in the winter time.  I thought it was very cute and sweet!

at play

If you’ve been reading my blog all week, you know this is my “break” day I’m taking from the Five Days blog hop.  Make sure you click on the link below to check out the other bloggers who are actually blogging all five days, and come back tomorrow and Friday for posts on gathering resources and for creating a daily routine in your homeschool.

Back to Homeschool Blog Hop

3 thoughts on “This week: Alligators and Vampire Bunnies

Leave a Reply

