July Cross Stitch Update

This has not been a month with a lot of stitching.  I started working on this series of four bird ornaments that were tedious and bored me to tears.  I finished one.  It was beautiful with its four colors of backstitching and details.  It’s from a kit that I bought at Wal-Mart, and I couldn’t really tell you who the designer was.

027

I got about a third of the way through the next bird and then I gave up.  I’ll have to come back to these when I’m feeling more patient.

065

Instead, I started making a Santa’s Sleigh Ride ornament.  This one is designed by Elizabeth Talledo of Dames of the Needle.  I’m using 28 count Milk Chocolate Linen and all of the threads are from The Gentle Art Sampler and The Gentle Art Simply Shaker.  While I love the color variations in most Gentle Art threads, the ones that I’m working with in this piece are mostly very subtle, and with the onyx and picket fence, I would say unnoticeable.

My children have scoffed at me because they think the Ohio Lemon Pie from Gentle Arts that I’m doing the moon in is a bright enough yellow for the sun, but now that I’ve got Santa and the reindeer in, they don’t think it’s so bad.  I’m around 3/4 of the way through this one.  I’ve still got to put Santa’s reins on, finish the trees and do just a bit of a brown variegated ground.

066

Most of what I’ve worked on recently is finishing some previous stitches.  A few church friends are doing a fundraiser for a missionary associated with our church, and I promised that I’d give them some cards and ornaments to try and sell.  Here’s some of what I’ve made up.  You might remember me showing off the stitching on some of these.

First, the ornaments.

ornaments

I’ve also made a few little gift tags.

tags

I’ve also made some cards.

cards

 

And here’s one last collage all mixed up with several items!

cross-stitch finishes

I’ll probably be continuing to make up some little stitches between now and the fundraiser, and I’ll show a few of them off in next month’s update. 🙂

One thought on “July Cross Stitch Update

Leave a Reply

