June Cross-Stitch Update

I’ve been busy this month.  I finished the child pulling the presents on the sleigh.  It is so much more clearly defined with the backstitching in place than it was before.  If you’re interested in seeing the work in progress, you can always go back to last month’s cross-stitch update.

006

I also worked on a project called “Santa.”  It’s by Nancy Greenberg of Pickle Barrel Designs. It’s about a 8″x 4″ design, but it is very simple.  I completed it on 14 count raw linen and intend on making it up into an ornament or a doorknob decoration.

As you can see, it’s simple but uses some beautiful variegated thread from Weeks Dye Works.  I love to watch all the subtle color variations come to life as I stitch.

025

Another finish this month was an Elegance miniature by John Clayton.  Her name is Hannah, and she’s about 5 x 5.  I plan to mat her in purple and hang her in my bedroom  🙂  I stitched her on 28-ct china  white and I think she’s the prettiest thing I’ve stitched in quite some time.

033

 

Finally, I finished a little penguin called “Red Penguin.”  It’s from Casey Buonaugurio and was in a Just CrossStitch from 2013.  It’s on 25-count Victorian Red and, it’s really small and cute.  It’s about 2 x 2 1/2″ and I finished it in just one evening of watching Dr. Who.

034

As you can see, I’ve done a bunch of little stitches, but no actual finishing.  I’m making stuff for my tree, and I was kind of waiting a month or two to see when Hobby Lobby gets in it’s Christmas  inventory before I start finishing things into ornaments.  So, what kind of crafting have you been doing lately?

6 thoughts on “June Cross-Stitch Update

  1. I love them all but especially the Victorian woman and the penguin. Do you have a link for the penguin I’d love to stitch one for my middle daughter.

    1. Thank you! I don’t actually have a link for the red penguin because it was in the June 2013 Just Cross-Stitch. They sale the back issue as a digital download (http://www.anniescatalog.com/detail.html?prod_id=101910&cat_id=1838&source=EPCCF), but I know $5.99 would be a little hefty for me for just one little penguin deign. The Santa I stitched this month was also from that magazine…..I was actually thinking it was so easy that I might try to restitch it with my daughter who wants to learn to stitch.

  2. Oh my goodness, the finishes are wonderful! I’ve actually stitched Hannah myself and she is more gorgeous in person than in the photo so I know you’re over the moon with excitement. Don’t you love how John Clayton gives each person such detail and with little to no backstitching? You’ve really been busy too to have so many happy dances so…….way to go!!!

    1. Thank you! I’m really excited about Hannah, and I love the lack of backstitching. I have a lavender bedroom and I think she’s going to go perfectly! My children have been making fun of me for stitching a lot of Christmas stuff, but my tree is going to be lovely this year!

  3. Rebecca these are gorgeous!!! I used to cross stitch years and years ago. I made several things that I gave to my Mother so now we have them. These are just beautiful!!!

Leave a Reply

