Sock Animal Seals

When we were studying animals at co-op, I would often come up with a craft to go with each animal.  Sometimes my class was more like animal art than animal facts 🙂

One of my favorite crafts that we did all semester were our sock animal seals.  I think I promised to write a post on it back in November when we actually did the activity, so now I’m fulfilling that promise!

sock-animal-seals

 

Sock animal seals are actually very easy to make.  All you need is:

  • a children’s sized sock
  • fiberfill stuffing
  • google eyes
  • white felt
  • a black pom pom
  • black pipe cleaners

The very first thing that you do is to fill a sock with fiberfill until you get it just the right fullness that your child wants.  Then, you tie it shut.  Sometimes, I even use one of those black pipe cleaners and knot it.  If you don’t want the tie to show, you can bring the end of the sock back over the tie and glue.

As I talk about gluing, I recommend that you hot glue this project.  If your child is old enough, he/she can run the hot glue gun himself.  I know that often my 9 and 7 year olds prefer to do all their own gluing.

The next thing you’re going to do is to cut two fin shapes from white felt.  These fin shapes will look like a filled-in U.  Glue these to each side of the sock body.

Then, comes the fun part of making the face.  You’ll use two google eyes for eyes and a black pom pom as a nose.  You’ll also want to cut a couple of pipe cleaners in half and glue them down to make whiskers.

All done and ready for play!

We also love the printable crafts at LearnCreateLove.  We used a printable seal craft from Kimberly’s website as part of our learning fun!

028

3 thoughts on “Sock Animal Seals

Leave a Reply

